Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 3 – Chapter 16 – Sebastian tells the adventures of the twin bears

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

My name is Sebastian, the butler who serves the Forrester family in Leonidas. What is my age? If possible, that’s the part I’d like to skip … But yeah, considering the balance of the story, I’ll say I’m 65 years old. I am a bear. Yes it is. A bear animates. Apparently many of you want to know more about me and the people around me. I’d like to tell you everything, of course. But before that, there is something I need to tell you. The Forrester family, which I serve, is a very well established family that continues to be talked about because the most famous warriors and adventurers Leonidas knows come from there. In particular, Virgil, my lord, is a former Knight who served as Hector’s ally who was called the “Silent King” … It’s sad, but there are fools who do not like the works that are done in the world, even if they are good works . Therefore, there were many enemies who did not like Virgil’s existence at all. They targeted his life in various ways. Therefore, I have been helping to protect Virgil and his partner ever since, helping him as his butler and as his friend. Of course, I also swore my allegiance to the “Silent King”, and to his entire family, as long as they could make this place harmonious and run in peace.

For that reason, getting my hands dirty is only a minor matter.

No, the story has gone wrong … I think I should talk about kinder things, right? First, I told them about Gale Bocchan, the first-born of the Forrester family. Also about Douglas, Hector’s son, “The Silent King” and about Chikayuki, who is the partner of the two. This will then be the story of my friends’ adorable twin puppies.

That day, after finishing my daily chores, I made baked goods for Bocchan and his family. A honey muffin with fruit and icing sugar. Then I got to his house, he was about to ring the bell and then … Surprisingly, it was the young Berg and Ade who opened the door just before I did.

Berg and Ade are twin bears, children born between Chikayuki and Gale, although of course they are also Douglas’s children.

I could not imagine that the two small children, the ones who previously slept in their mother’s arms, had now grown enough to be able to take the initiative to welcome the guests. I was so shocked that my tear glands got loose.

“I’m sorry, Berg-sama, Ade-sama. Where are your parents? Today I cooked some …”

But when I leaned over to try to show them the tray, two little hands reached out and took my sleeve.

“Sebastian, here!”

They pulled me out of the entrance, desperately pulling on my clothes. My hands were busy, I had a tray and a basket full of baked goods so it was hard to keep up with them. We ended up in the backyard.

“What did the two of you do?”

When I asked them, in a way different from their usual appearance, they all put their fingers in front of their mouths.

“You need to be careful!”

“Mom is sick.”

It was Berg who said that while hiding his voice with both palms.

“Oh, then I have to go.”

“No! You can not!”

Berg seems to be in a hurry to stop me and Ade-sama had a desperate face. Well, how bad is it? I asked them why.

So, this is what happened a couple of hours before arriving:

✤✤✤✤✤✤

“My love, I thought I told you that you should sleep.”

“But the fever is gone …”

“You have to be at rest for at least a week.”

Chikayuki tries to get out of bed, but his two husbands immediately stop him.

“Your job today is to do nothing, think about your body and rest calmly.”

“We will do all the housework and take care of the children. So you don’t have to worry about anything, we can call Sebastian if you want.”

“It’s not as easy as that.”

“Can I become your favorite animal and warm you up?”

“You’re thirsty? Drink more water.”

Douglas and Gale confuse him with his movements and words. They touch it, tuck it in and fix it firmly from both sides of the bed.

“You two are too exaggerated! My fever really went away!”

“This is not an exaggeration because we know very well that you have been ill many times! It can get worse.”

“Uh …”

“Yes it’s correct. Even when you healed our bodies, you did not keep the necessary rest.”

“Patients are important, but our husband is definitely much more important.”

Chikayuki, who ignores everything they say, is completely turned off by not finding a way out.

“That’s why we’re going to take care of you all day. If you don’t improve, then we will definitely punish you.”

“Or if you wanted to be punished on purpose and that’s why you don’t listen to us, then it’s a separate story …”

“Gale!”

“Hey, you shouldn’t make such a loud voice.”

“I don’t have to worry because if Sebastian comes, he’ll make a homemade drink that will work well for a sore throat.”

Anyway, whatever he wants to do, the two men will take care of Chikayuki and pamper him thoroughly … If he says he feels like going to the bathroom, they all join him in carrying him. The same is true if you say you want to eat or look out the window. However, one word Chikayuki said changed the course of everything.

“I’ll be fine, because if I’m with my children I feel better. They take care of me.”

The prayer was indeed heard and the two children quickly found themselves in good spirits in the blink of an eye. They immediately dove into bed with Chikayuki-sama and promised that they could trust both of them.

Berg and Ade, peering through the gaps between the doors, decided that they would definitely rest him until he felt better. They would show their parents that they were much better than them and not only that, they also wanted to make Chikayuki happy by working hard with their own power.

Unfortunately for them, the children realized that if someone found out what they were trying to do, they could permanently stop them. Maybe Sui would go tell his parents or take care of everything on his own to steal their credit … As if that were not enough, they also had no concrete idea of ​​what to do to take care of Chikayuki without hurting him in the process.

And then I appeared.

✤✤✤✤✤✤

They were sitting there with their knees against his chest as if they could start crying at any moment. Unconsciously, I put my hand over my mouth and nodded.

“I see, it’s okay. Chikayuki-sama must be very tired … But you are certainly very good children because they thought of him before you, right? They thought about doing their best, with their strength.”

However, since they were too eager to do their best to heal Chika, they seemed to have increased their anxiety level without them noticing. Berg’s and Ade’s ears on top of their heads twitched sharply and their brows drew together. Now they really couldn’t seem to bear the tears.

“As long as Mommy is sick, we have to help …”

“But, but Sebastian can’t tell our brothers! You can’t tell Grandpa either!”

“But what do we do, Sebastian?”

I was impressed that they trusted me so much. It is definitely my duty as a butler to help you all until you are satisfied!

“Berg, Ade, please raise your face. Look… “I showed them the baked goods that were in the basket. “Eat this first. There is nothing to worry about because I am here and I am going to help them as much as I can … But the problem is that they are hungry, and thus they cannot do anything right.”

They spread their hands, took the bread, and then the two of them looked at each other’s faces and enjoyed together.

“Its very good!”

“Delicious!”

It makes me happy when they smile and their faces shine that bright. Berg’s ears made me quite cute.

“Did you feel better?”

“Yes!”

“Then this is the plan, I’m going to make a dish that will make your mom perk up a lot too. What do you think?”

But they both bowed their heads immediately.

“Is it going to work?”

“Well, there are ingredients that we lack to prepare what I want. Can you two go buy them at the market?”

“… But we only go out to the market with Dad or Mom.”

Berg was anxious. I think they are worried about being scolded for going to the market alone.

“Okay, I understand that this is your first time doing this and that you are probably very nervous … But Mom needs you and I would not ask you to do this if I did not trust you can handle this.”

They seemed to give it another thought, but soon they nodded at the same time and smiled, as if they were quite determined.

“We will do the best we can!”

“Well, let’s see Mom first to make sure everything is in order. It’s okay?”

But Chikayuki was still lying down, trapped in the room on the top floor with two huge people on either side. Poor thing . If they’re not careful with him, they’re really going to crush him one of these days.

I told the kids to get ready to go out, we had to hurry so they started running everywhere. They put on a hood as if they were preparing to travel to a very distant place, their rain boots, they took the shopping basket and they hung a bag with a long cord.

“This is the list, I also checked the posts … Well, you don’t have to stop for anything and you don’t have to talk to strangers either. If any are lost, they have to remain calm and ask for help from nearby Knights on patrol.”

Even if he didn’t say those things, they knew. However, they didn’t seem annoyed with my words, instead they listened and nodded with a rather serious expression.

Looking at them and not saying anything else, I sent them off with a smile.

“I trust you, please be very careful.”

“Yes, we’re going!”

The two were running down the street hand in hand. Oh please look ahead Ade-sama …

And so, watching them until they disappeared into the distance, I finally said:

“Come here.”

Johann appeared in front of me, as if he had been waiting for my words all this time. He bowed deeply.

“I know the details of the mission and I know the children well, please teacher … Let me go watch them.”

“No, you stay at the mansion. You better serve that.”

Based on the current situation, it would be bad if Hector, his subordinates or any other kind of unnecessary person came … If someone bothers them, then they will soon notice that Berg and Ade are not in the house and everything will turn into complete chaos.

“What about Berg and Ade …?”

“I’ll follow them. Listen to me, Sui, Richt and Hikaru are playing in the yard, go with them and give them the sweet bread.”

“But stay with the children …”

“Shut up and listen to me. Don’t let other family members know that Berg and Ade left. We are both bound to keep this secret forever, you understand?”

“… I get it.”

“I hope so. For your own good.”

✤✤✤✤✤✤

I ran after Berg and Ade … However, it didn’t take long for my feet to catch up with them.

I followed in his footsteps, hidden under the trees and under the roofs of the buildings that lined the road. I had to make sure they didn’t realize I was following them or else they would stop trusting me. I watched the two kids the whole time, almost holding my breath, but they wouldn’t stop smiling and laughing.

Just before reaching the market, Ade was a little tired and squatted for a moment. The boy is somewhat small compared to Berg, he still cannot turn into a bear at will and is also much thinner. It takes quite a few breaks and this time was no exception. I was nervous because my two children were there, sitting in the middle of the road … As expected, maybe it was too much for them. Then Berg changed his appearance to that of a beast. He was on all fours, pulling his brother’s shirt off as he talked to him about his next plan. In the cub, little Ade was trying to balance herself. He grabbed his neck and then even had the luxury of leaning back a bit. It was very pretty, like the cover of a fairy tale.

Berg carried his brother firmly on his back for several kilometers until they reached the market. Although they seemed to be perfectly fine, I looked at them quite confused because there were too many prying eyes settling on them. Well, I suppose there is no way not to, because the puppy that had the child behind him walked with a serious and determined look. Even in this country where there are many beasts, the sight of seeing a baby bear with a human baby on top, arriving at noon with a shopping bag, may have been quite unusual. It felt like everyone was confused …

The Knights, familiar with the family and with the faces of Berg and Ade, seemed very surprised that only they were in those directions … Under normal circumstances, they would have placed a security guard under the direction of Hector or Virgil. But there they were, alone , with hats and with a basket . When a Knight accosted them, Ade descended from Berg’s back and began desperately explaining the situation, making a strange gesture and spreading her arms. Berg stood on his hind legs and began to move from side to side, like Ade. The Knights smiled and then nodded when asked to keep this a secret from their grandparents, former Commander-in-Chief Virgil, her husband Richam, and former King Hector.

However, upon letting them go, the Knight seemed to begin giving various instructions to his subordinates to encircle the entire market.

I mentally thanked them for taking care of them and for their kindness … And continue to follow them a few steps away. Turns out, they got stuck in the middle of the market. The children, like little travelers in an unknown jungle, look around in an attempt to find the first item on the list … They looked to the left and to the right, but after a while they suddenly started running again. . They found a store that sold just the marked ingredients, so they got going. They would take a box, a container and if they didn’t find what they needed, they would ask the owner of the store. Sometimes, when the man said he didn’t have it, they would ask him in which store they could get them and even ask for the easiest route … I guess this could be Chikayuki-san’s doing. If they realize that they cannot do things in their own power, they trust others to achieve their goals. This seems like an easy thing, but it is not. It’s actually great growth.

Soon after, discovering that all of their shopping was over, they were swinging, jumping, and sharing their joy with each other. I was relieved from the bottom of my heart , so immediately, I moved on to my next plan of action. The safety of your return trip will be guarded by the Market Knights so I must hurry, return to the mansion and meet them at the gate.

As soon as I ran back to the children’s house, Berg and Ade, who took care of the basket containing the ingredients, quickly appeared in front of me. They were sweaty and breathing very fast … Surely they both returned as soon as they could. Encouraged by the strong desire to help Chikayuki-sama.

“That’s it, Sebastian!”

“Welcome home. How are they? Did you have a problem?”

Ade looked a bit tired.

“Berg! It was a secret …!”

“I see. But they are both very good, I am really impressed by their incredible performance.”

I was able to convince them to go wash their hands and immediately after, I began to cook a special dish with the ingredients they had purchased. I heard that Chikayuki’s fever was mild, maybe a slight cold, so it would surely be okay for him to start eating soon. I decided to make a porridge and a pretty thick chicken broth. Of course, to be nourished you need protein and vegetables. Also fragrant herbs.

I called and prepared them so that they could hold the food between their little hands. Ade and Berg began to follow me with a mixture of tension and anxiety … Maybe they were even absolutely excited. I smiled at them and knocked on the door of the room where Chikayuki slept. The lords’ room.

“I’m sorry. I can come in?”

“Oh, Sebastian? Please come in.”

As I opened the door and entered, as expected I saw a huge bear and a huge lion, overjoyed as they held Chikayuki on both sides and rested their heads on the same pillow. Actually, rather than letting him sleep I would say that they were stroking him.

“I am sorry for this. Are Berg and Ade with you?”

Chikayuki tried to get out of bed, but the animals stopped him.

“We already told you not to move.”

“Oh, but Sebastian …”

“Sebastian, did you cook rice for Chika? Then leave it there. We will feed Chika ourselves.”

Chikayuki’s complexion appears to be slightly tinged, but he didn’t know if it was due to fever or embarrassment.

Berg and Ade are worried about their mother and are also confused because their parents are taking care of them in an exaggerated way … However, both Bocchama and Douglas are so distracted in Chikayuki that they cannot even notice the eyes and thoughts of their little ones children. No matter how much your instincts want it, you can’t act like such an irresponsible parent! I felt that one of the blood vessels in my head had finally been cut.

“We already told you our plan. You can go, Sebastian.”

“No way, they’re going to get out of this room now … Or I’m going to kick them out.”

“I … Sebastian, but …”

“I won’t say it again. Please bye bye.”

They began to tremble … Their appearance is like that of a herbivorous animal that is about to be attacked by a carnivorous one.

“… Huh. Yes, I think we have to take a breath. You’re right.”

“We commissioned it a lot then.”

And as soon as they got up and hurried to the door, Berg and Ade ran to the bed. They seemed very happy to see Chikayuki smile.

“Mommy, do you have a fever?”

“It is painful?”

“Oh, were they worried about me? My beautiful little children.”

Chikayuki smiled and stroked their two little heads. The two sighed, relieved by the appearance of Chikayuki who definitely looked better. Then they turned and waved at me as if they had remembered something important. I nodded and then presented Chikayuki with the dishes that were in the children’s hands.

“Please enjoy it. It’s all Berg and Ade’s doing so I hope you like the taste of it.”

“Is seriously? Thanks a lot! It looks delicious.”

Chikayuki brings the soup to her mouth with a calm expression, and Berg and Ade look at each other for a moment before offering her a sincere and beautiful smile. At last, I could see the moment of calm finally settling on their faces.

“Is it really delicious?” Berg asked.

“Very delicious?” Ade asked this time.

“Yes, it is very delicious.”

When Chikayuki laughs and replies, the two look at each other again. They sigh and lie down next to him. They were so happy and calm that all the nervousness and effort of the day finally got the better of them. They closed their eyes and yawned one last time.

“Oh, it’s the first time I’ve seen them sleep so fast. Did you play a lot today?”

Chikayuki sets the plate down again, holds them up, and accommodates them one on each arm. He kisses their cheeks, their hair and begins to repeatedly kiss their little ears … I decided to tell him everything that happened, from his worries, through his trip to the market and ending with the fact that most of the ingredients he finished Eating was the result of Ade and Berg’s efforts. Chikayuki was very surprised and looked deeply into the sleeping faces of the youngest children in the house, who had achieved their first little adventure on their own.

“They really worried.”

“It is normal for a child to think of their parents, it is also normal that they want to show their love to you in some way … Please praise these brave adventurers when they wake up.”

Then a line of tears fell on Chikayuki’s cheek.

“Oh, sorry.bThank you, Sebastian-san … Thank you very much for taking care of me and my children. He hadn’t noticed that they had already grown that much.”

“That’s true, but I think it’s all the result of Chikayuki always giving her children enough affection.”

“I’m really happy. Thanks Sebastian. Thank you, my pretty Berg, my pretty Ade … Let’s eat together tomorrow. Alright?”

Chikayuki’s smile was huge as he kissed his little children again. I recorded this event in my memory, to always remember their loving gestures and the adventures of the little twins who worked hard with their own power, for their mother.

One reply on “Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 3 – Chapter 16 – Sebastian tells the adventures of the twin bears”

Leave a comment