Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 20

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

I was finally able to walk on my feet. But I’m holding Gale’s hands!

It is an abysmal height difference and more than feeling like his lover, I begin to believe that we are more of a father and his son.

“What are we going to do if you get lost? This country is not very safe.”

“If you don’t like holding my hand, how about I hold you back in my arms? Or do you prefer me to do it on my shoulders?”

There was no choice.

I told them about the ingredients and condiments I needed and guided them through the market for about half an hour. As a result, I think I was able to get foods that were very close to what I had been looking for. Most of the meat appears to be from a nonspecific and very rare beast, but from what I hear from the grocer’s explanation, it appears that it can be roughly classified as beef, pork, and chicken.

There were other meats, like rabbit.

Many of the vegetables look different and have a different color as well, but if you listen carefully to the explanations, the difference is only in appearance — the shape is the same, but there are many things that are quite different in color. As I received his detailed words, I discovered that this was an onion, this a pepper, this a tomato and this asparagus. The seasonings tasted the same so I knew this was pepper, this salt, this vinegar, oil, herbs and this turned out to be cumin.

What surprised me the most was that there was a condiment used for Japanese food, something that I thought I would never find around here. Of course, the name and other details are different, but it seems to be a special product brought from Fish Reed. There is also soy sauce, miso, mirin to boiled rice and special seaweed to make dashi. Also, they all appear to be very high-end, imported and expensive products. I am very sorry for them. But I can’t get over the temptation of Japanese food!

I told them that I wanted to cook rice so I asked that they also buy me a huge clay pot. If I have one like that, then cooking will be a lot easier. Of course, I can make western food perfectly, but Japanese food is Japanese best. It’s something that comes out really well for me!

I asked Gale about how to use the kitchen in the house. I was worried about whether I would have to use the wood-burning oven, because I was convinced that the stove and the electric oven worked with some kind of magic that would not allow me to cook comfortably.

“I’m not sure if you will like this dish, but can I try making a chicken-based meal? It is very popular in my world.”

“Oh, of course! I’m looking forward to whatever dish Chika has in mind.”

“It’s a dish that was originally made by hand by the wives of men who went to war … It’s … a romantic dish.”

After that and fully psyched up, it took me a while, but I was able to work in the kitchen with all those tools that were previously unknown to me. Today’s menu is fried chicken that I spent quite a few hours on.

I thought they wouldn’t like it, honestly.

First of all, it is a fried bird with a sweet taste, intertwined with tomato sauce and spicy prepared with soy sauce and sugar. Finally I put in it, sweet vinegar thickened with potato starch … I did a lot, but it also looked like very little. For the two of them it’s about … Four servings each? It might not be enough, so I also cooked a miso soup.

In this world, simple soups made with the flavor of meat and salt are common, so I wanted them to try something different. I wanted to continue down the tofu and seaweed path. I also put onions, peas and potatoes. After that, I was able to easily make a salad with some vegetables and top with soy sauce, pure Japanese style.

Boiled and pickled foods are best, but these two meat-eaters are sure not to like it.

“I’m sorry! It probably doesn’t look good to you. It is a fried dish that is eaten daily in my world. The flavors are different, so … If you want, just have the fried chicken.”

“Chika, what is this brown liquid?”

“Miso soup is an important food in my country. If you don’t like it, please tell me immediately. I will not get mad.”

When I finish my explanation and try to sit in my seat, Gale quickly grabs my arm. It seems my destiny is to stay in Gale’s lap for eternity.

“My arm and leg have healed, and I think it’s okay if I’m not on your knees.”

Gale looked a bit puzzled.

“Chika, are you disgusted being on my knees?”

Gale has a depressed expression that I’ve never seen before. I feel like even the bear ears on his head are dropping. I don’t like to see it like this! It looks like a zoo animal.

“No. That is not the case! I’m only worried because I want you to eat well, and being on your lap I’m going to get in the way.”

“Do not say that. Chika’s place will always be here with me. Good?”

“Yes, good.”

Damn.

Apparently I will never be able to escape from the lap.

“He wants to offer you a life of confinement in his arms, how romantic, right? The next thing he will do is chew your food like a chick.”

“At least I’m kind. You are a savage of the worst!”

“Twit, twit, twit.”

“Lions have a habit of seeing their mate as their prey. The love of the mighty lion’s bond is expressed by entangling his prey in his hands, for what? Love him? It is difficult to say that is love, what is abuse.”

“Wait, wait, I’m not a criminal. Don’t get me wrong, Chika. It’s just that some of us are too fierce and we get carried away.”

It seemed Douglas had said that more to convince himself than to convince me. It was a fact that I had felt a little chill down my back after hearing about his habit, but I was more concerned with how easily those two got into a fight.

“Damn envious.”

“Chika, if you were dating another man and this guy saw you, he would surely completely renounce his reason. He’s just a beast full of madness with relentless brutality and cruel treatment. I don’t have the confidence to leave you with him.”

“Wow, I thought it was because you were afraid that he would realize that “I” am a much better match than you. Sorry.”

As I was surprised, I looked back at Douglas. For a moment he looked like a carnivorous beast, ready to land a bite … That was terribly sexy, too.

“Eat. It’s going to get cold!”

“Oh good.”

They reached out to take the spoon and began to eat with a slightly strange face. I tried to take the fried chicken slowly, to test its flavor … It was crispy and fragrant, and the seasoning wasn’t bad either. White rice… How many years have passed since I ate rice? I remembered the miserable eating habits of my slave days and felt a bit depressed, but when I took the second bite, the taste of sweet white rice spread in my mouth.

“I missed you so much, rice …”

I was biting and tasting as I remembered my home on Earth, but Douglas and Gale seemed a little scared.

“What happened? You do not like it?”

“I’m sorry, it’s too delicious, and I’m very surprised. It’s fried, but it’s good …”

“This soup from Miso is also very delicious. I was surprised by the color, but the more I drink it, the more the spices spread. The compatibility of rice with fried chicken is really good.”

Apparently they liked it.

The reviews are good.

They eat very slowly at first … But then they put the food in their mouths as if they were very desperate. I don’t remember how many times I replaced the congee and miso broth, but everything I had prepared to eat even for tomorrow morning was gone too. Every time I asked Gale to get me off his knees and put me on the floor, I had to go to the kitchen and get more rice.

The scene was repeated over and over.

All the fried dishes prepared for the two of you, in a short time are more than empty.

” Chika is there more?”

“No, not anymore.”

That amount is not enough …

“Sorry, I’ll prepare more next time …”

The two men are looking at the empty plate. It was kind of funny because they looked like old dogs staring at their empty kibble bowl.

It was unexpected that it was not enough, but I am very happy that you liked it so much.

“I didn’t think you could make such delicious food. Does everyone in Chika’s world cook this well?”

“This is an amateur job, I think it would be more delicious if it was done by a professional chef.”

“Is this being an amateur?”

“Oh, but it was really delicious.”

“It was really delicious, Chika. Can you do it again?”

“Yes! I am happy they want more of this. There are still many dishes that I want to show you. So I’ll prepare all of them as soon as possible!”

I have cooked for a long time because my mother was always busy so now I was confident in my cooking skills! Nobody taught me how to do it so if you keep praising me like this, I might end up believing myself a Master Chef.

“Now, I’m going to clean up.”

“No. We will do the cleaning.”

“That’s right, we can’t let Chika, who made all these delicious things for us, also be the one to clean.”

Since I was still in debt to them, I wanted to do as much as I could in the kitchen and at the table, but in the end I decided it was okay if they took care of it. One washed and the other dried, and then we went to the bathroom to shower with Gale. Just as promised .

Although he was not mischievous like Douglas-san, I was very happy when he let me wash his entire body in detail. Of course, I didn’t forget to his ears and bear tail end up being very “mofumofu” [means fluffy ]. It’s a shame he didn’t let me play with his tail, but overall it was a very happy moment for me … And, in Douglas’s room, he holds me on the bed, hugging me from behind quite tightly. As if it were a pillow.

I felt Douglas’s body temperature on my back and my eyes grew heavier before I began to think about all the things I still had to do tomorrow.

Leave a comment