Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 22

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

Douglas’s POV

What the hell is going on?

Chika began to heal my lost left arm to try a new healing technique. I thought, inevitably, that something was wrong from that moment …

An amount of magical power that I have never seen before, flies from Chika, flows, drags me and, a feeling that I cannot describe decently now, runs where the arm should have been all along. If I look closely, I can notice how the bones gradually begin to form from the base.

How bad is this?

How advanced is this?

I don’t know what will happen to Chika .

It is definitely something very powerful, and Chika’s body is increasingly exposed to danger.

I try desperately to talk to him, but he ignores me every time. He doesn’t want to stop healing me. Bastard Glenn is pressing me against the gurney and I can’t see anyone else.

Please ask him to stop!

What will happen to us if something happens to you?

When I felt an enormous amount of power coming from Chika, the dazzling light of healing disappeared, and … My left arm was there.

My mother.

I feel the weight of my left arm, the one I haven’t felt in a long time. I tried to move it, to spread my fingers … It didn’t even hurt.

No, that is not important now.

Was Chika able to do all of that on his own?

Looking at Chika, he looks completely wrong. So exhausted that he cannot stand alone.

I need to go down and be with him.

I need Chika.

I need to feel Chika and verify his condition.

Like me, a great light wraps around Gale’s foot and disappears almost immediately. After that, there was Gale with a completely strange expression and Chika, with a rather sick complexion.

“I’m sorry, I can not.”

At those words, Chika fell to the ground.

I hurry, get out of bed and run to Chika so I can hold him against me. Soon, other people were also gathering.

“Listen! Chika! You’re good? Can you hear me?

“Chika! Chika!”

But I don’t know how he moves, and his lips seem to be even blue.

“! Mintz! Is Chika okay? Mintz, tell me what to do!”

Gale has a stunned expression, I don’t even know if he has noticed that Chika is immobile in front of him.

“Please keep calm! I need you to be okay so I can confirm if Chika is. Agree?”

Mintz checks Chika with a serious expression. After a while, he looks at us and puts on a relieved expression that makes us breathe.

“Okay, it’s not a life-threatening condition. However, so much magic power has made him very weak.”

“If he’s in a weak state, is he really okay ?!”

“Douglas, calm down. It will be fine if he rests … But can you remember Chika’s physical state? The physical ability rank was marked at F. It may take some time before his consciousness returns.”

I am greatly relieved to hear that, but what the hell happened?

What the fuck was that?

I never heard of my arm or Gale’s leg being able to be cured with magic. In fact, we were told a thousand times that it was impossible.

“Okay, okay, I understand what you want. I will tell you.”

“What did he do? What was Chika working on? I was surprised by Doug’s arm, but my foot was so bad I couldn’t walk. I felt nothing!”

“Of course I’ll explain it to you. Parish, can you take care of Chika in the meantime?”

“Oh, you can leave it to me.”

Leaving Chika and Parish in the treatment room, Gale, Mintz, Glenn, and I moved into the back room.

✤✤✤✤✤✤

Mintz started talking about what happened yesterday.

Chika has been treating terminally ill patients with strange healing techniques. When he tried to inform us about it, Chika stopped him and asked him to give him one more day. Somehow, Chika came to believe that he could heal our arms and legs with that same technique …

And he actually succeeded. It healed my arm and legs in an astonishingly incredible way.

“Chika knew about the risks of curing the branch bosses, but his decision didn’t change …”

“I can’t say I’m not happy about Gale’s leg or the return of my arm. But it’s completely irresponsible! People who know me will speak! People who know Gale will speak! Everyone will want to find the name of the man who healed us! What were you thinking Mintz?”

Gale hasn’t broken his hard expression.

“Of course I tried to stop him, but Chika said, “ I have no intention of stopping, even if I’m going to lose my life. My partners need me“ “

When I heard that, I had no choice but to hold my head. Gale put on a sour smile.

“Why did he have to go so far …?”

“Because Chika-san cares about both of you! Because he loves you, because he wants to thank you, because you are partners! He feel that even if he dies for you it is fine!”

Just thinking about it seems crazy.

“If you two were suspicious about what he was trying to do, you probably would have stopped him. So we all work together to fulfill his wish.”

“Glenn offered to stop us?”

“I’m sorry! But I really wanted to work with him after hearing Chika’s interesting story.”

Glenn is deeply inclined towards Gale.

“Oh, it doesn’t matter anymore. I’m sorry we made it difficult for you.”

“By the way, how are the arms and legs that Chika has healed with such passion?”

“It’s … It’s strange.”

How many years passed without feeling my arm? It was so long … that I had even forgotten that I missed that feeling.

“My leg is wonderful. I feel … like nothing ever happened to me.”

Gale also confirms this by getting up on the spot and stepping using the entire sole of his foot.

“That’s good, otherwise Chika would lose his motivation.”

“What about the feeling? I felt a death pain, sure … But I’m sure it would have been much worse considering the extent of the injury.”

“Yes. Yesterday, Chika treated a very serious child, but the child did not feel any pain. He wasn’t tired either … I think Chika sends all his life force to the injured body. Great for the patient, but terrible for him.” Mintz seems to speak as he remembers something. “After that, when I heard Chika’s story, he said that he felt like something inside him was quickly escaping …”

“We can’t let him keep doing that … What if he gives himself so much energy that he dies?”

“I think so, it could actually happen.”

I couldn’t control the shaking in my body and the cold sensation creeping up my back didn’t seem to stop either. If Chika had held more power, would he be dead because of me? Was he willing to die simply to fix our bodies?

I haven’t felt it in a long time, but now I’m scared . I realized that Gale was right about the lions. I felt that if I suddenly lost my partner, I was really going to freak out. I looked at Gale, he seems to be thinking the exact same thing as me. His face is not good and his fingers do not stop trembling.

“But Chika is safe, Chika is powerful and Chika is smarter than you can imagine. However, I support you. I am also worried about the future.”

“What do you think about the future?”

“It’s about Doug’s arm, unlike Gale, it can’t be hidden. There are going to be rumors around Chika and he will soon be harassed. When this happens, this country will be the worst place to protect Chika.”

This is right.

There is also slavery, so we cannot leave Chika in this country where the royal family is completely rotten.

We should leave this country as soon as possible.

“I’ve already investigated, and I think maybe we can go back to my country …”

“What will happen to Chika?”

Gale glances at me with a suspicious face.

“I haven’t talked about him with anyone yet … We can only hope that my brother can accept him.”

“Maybe we can try …”

“It will be after Chika’s consciousness has returned and his physical condition has improved as much as possible.”

“In the meantime, if I have my legs and you have both arms, it will be easy to protect him.”

That’s true.

I can use my skills again.

I can use my swords and my daggers.

But…

“I’d like to thank Chika, but it’s complicated. Chika’s path has become difficult because of us.”

“Yes, we were used to it. It would have been nice if I left things as they were.”

“What kind of stupid things are you saying? Your arms and legs are a gift from Chika’s love. Don’t be sorry! Ungrateful! If you have this again, it’s easy to support Chika from now on. Don’t put on that sad face and be those S-rank adventurers that everyone admires again! Ball of idiots!”

“… We have to create a plan.”

“But, as Mintz says … Chika’s future depends on us.”

We stopped talking there, although we didn’t reach any important agreement … Only then did we return to Chika.

Beside him, Parish leans down to stare at his complexion. Observe the state of his pupils using a small light bulb.

“How is Chika-kun?”

“Yeah, I don’t think it’s that bad. He’s really tired, and we let tired patients sleep.”

“It’s okay…”

“What will you do? If you are very worried, you can leave him in the care of the guild until he improves.”

“No, we’re taking him with us.”

“That’s right, we’re used to taking care of Chika when he’s unconscious.”

We decided to take him home and go back to the habits we took when we first met him. I ended up wearing a huge coat that completely concealed my entire body, although my actual arm was wider than the prosthesis and I had to make a huge effort not to move more than necessary … This makes me look like a suspicious person, but certainly there is no other alternative.

We are screwed. We are restored screwed men.

Afterwards, we let Chika continue sleeping. We nourished him, cleaned him and constantly checked that his remained stable. It was just that.

Chika woke up three days later.

Leave a comment