Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 31

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

The men who finished the battle quickly returned to me.

“Chika, are you okay? You got scared?”

“Chika, are you feeling okay? It’s so cold … You don’t have to stay in a place like this any longer. We will move soon.”

I thought they were going to say something more “Heroic”, but they are taking care of me just like my grandmother.

“I’m fine … But I’m overwhelmed by your strength. Parish and Glenn have told me about it before, but you are really amazing.”

“If Chika says so, then I feel ashamed.”

“It’s terrible, right? Chika’s hand helps heal humans, but my hand does the opposite.”

Gale looks a bit sad.

“That is not true! You certainly had to kill those demons, but it was necessary. They were going to attack us and they were able to attack the village below, right? Your hands are very kind, because they save people.”

I take Gale’s hands gently in mine, and kiss him right there.

“Thank you Chika.”

Douglas throws Gale-san, who was still looking at me very softly, and then stands in front of me offering both hands.

“Well, Douglas, your hands …”

“Chika says my hands disgust him.”

Everything ended very quickly … As expected of the branch bosses.

Even Glenn, who participated directly, was in awe of his performance.

“Well, Douglas’s hand is my favorite hand too. Thanks for protecting me.”

He smiled, I grabbed his hands and kissed him right on the fingertips. After that, I felt like Douglas was in a smug pose all day, but decided to ignore him.

✤✤✤✤✤✤

Glenn and I move forward together. The speed was very slow because I wanted to talk to him a bit.

“Gale and Douglas’s strength isn’t normal, right?”

“Of course, it’s not normal at all. It would have taken more adventurers to kill those demons, and it would have taken them a couple of hours.”

“Is that so?”

“The mother is very powerful. Even if ten people had fought him, they would not have won. Not easily at least.”

Gale killed ten with a single stroke of his sword. Douglas held everyone out with a dagger, then hacked off their legs in a clean motion.

But it’s not just these two people who are unusual.

“Glenn-san, you’re pretty strong too, right? The accuracy and speed of your bow and arrows were impressive.”

“Chika is right. Glenn is not well known because he decided to work in the office, but he is a great adventurer. They said he was the most promising young adventurer in his section.”

“I’m embarrassed when Gale-sama says it like that.”

“Glenn is still A in terms of rank, but being S shouldn’t be a problem … If he decided to continue.”

Douglas entered the conversation as he walked slowly.

“I’m still at rank A … because if the bosses weren’t there then there was no point in me …

“I think Glenn has already surpassed us in terms of bow and arrow and throwing skills as well … No one can beat his accuracy.”

“How clever. Pushing two arrows at the same time.”

“Oh, I was surprised too. The expression he wore with the bow was very serious! It looked great!”

“Hey Glenn, be careful about making our Chika fall in love.”

Glenn seemed a bit shy, looked down and scratched his head … Then I discovered that Gale’s ears were down and that Douglas, who was next to me, seemed to have become a bit sad.

Were they really okay?

“Uh, Gale is also amazing swinging a sword as heavy as a broomstick. When I found out I was already fighting with the mother. It was wonderful!”

“Well, I didn’t mean to do anything special, but I’m glad Chika liked it so much.”

Okay, the smile returned to Gale.

“Douglas-san was so fast that I couldn’t keep up. Is that the two sword style everyone was talking about in the health area? Every time Douglas-san moved, the monster fell. Parish told me once that it looked like you were dancing. And that was true!”

“I wasn’t originally that good at two sword styles … But since Chika fixed my arm, I thought I had to put on a good show for you.”

“Speaking of which, you mentioned Glenn as a young person, but how old is Glenn?”

“Right, I never mentioned it. I am twenty-five and Mintz and Parish are twenty-eight.”

Is Mintz actually the older husband? This was certainly unexpected .

“Glenn is very young. That’s why it’s really amazing …”

“Oh, you’re going to take the division entrance exam, right? Your talent cannot be wasted like this.”

“I’m glad Gale-sama can tell me that. But now there’s the whole thing with Mintz, and I don’t think he wants me to be an adventurer when the baby …”

“No, you just have to take the test without saying anything. What could happen?”

“… Many, many things.”

I think it is nice to have the opportunity to get to know Glenn-san better on this trip. He was a very kind, respectful and tender person. The perfect companion for Mintz.

“Chika, but without your help … We couldn’t have done any of this today. Thanks a lot.”

“That’s right. I always thought that I would never pick up a sword again for the rest of my life. I am very grateful to be able to fight with my original body …. I really appreciate it, my beloved Chika.”

“Chika’s power really is a blessing.”

Gale looks at Noah, but Douglas looks directly at me.

“It can be said that strong beasts like us always have some kind of purpose to fight. When I lost my arm, I felt that something had disappeared inside me, that it no longer had a case … But today, the joy of being able to fight again and the joy of being useful, filled me completely like never before in life. I even remembered that feeling from when I was young.”

“As Doug says, what we gave you is little compared to everything you did for us.”

“We will try to return the favor, as quickly as possible.”

This is the greatest happiness I can experience. The joy of having helped the people I love the most in this world.

“I felt I was very unfortunate to have come to this place … But then I met you and helped you with what I could do best. I wonder if that was always my destiny …”

“I am not a person who believes so much in destiny, but if you are part of it … then that destiny is welcome. I’m thankful.”

After that, there were no particular problems and it seemed like we could keep moving smoothly. We gained much more distance than planned. I was excited by the words of the three, the ones that tell me that we will arrive in Leonidas tomorrow morning.

At the camp, I had a tent the same height as yesterday, but we only ate a bread that was difficult to eat and a soup that I made with meat and beans. It was satisfying enough for me, but it seemed not enough for the two people who had been eating my food recently. They said, ” I want to eat Chika’s food soon.”

I was happy with that too.

As expected, tonight I slept with Gale. Even if this journey was over, when I went to sleep at night, I decided to ask him to turn into a bear again.

Leave a comment