Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 2 – Chapter 10

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

I don’t like my lack of physical strength. I can’t get used to using my legs and everything was difficult because the mountain path was not well groomed. It’s hard to keep up and I don’t even think I can breathe properly, but I just want to go on and get this over with once and for all.

However, after a while, Gallis seemed to notice that I was not well.

“Excuse me, I must have noticed you were trying so hard. Does something hurt?”

“These are very tender words from someone who brought me here by force.”

“… May I carry you?”

Gallis’s pace does not change, although now he has to battle with my weight. It seems that the further we go, the trees get bigger and the grass becomes even much denser.

“Is it okay to ask you something?”

“If you have something you want to know, don’t hesitate and spit it out.”

“Why can’t dragons interact with other races?”

“I don’t think it’s an interesting story.”

“Does not matter. Please tell me.”

Gallis lets out a big sigh.

“The power of the dragons is too strong. If it is a one-on-one battle, we can never lose. It is the price we pay to achieve it …”

“Why are there so few dragons?”

“They hunt dragons a lot …”

“Hunt them?”

“We have a kind of jade on our chest. It is the source of our lives and it is why we have our powers. You can make a lot of money selling this thing.”

“But I don’t think a strong race like the dragon is so easily hunted …”

“There are people who specialize in hunting dragons and, furthermore, when they see that they cannot beat adults … What do you think happens?”

“… They are looking for children.”

“Yes, you may not be able to steal from the father, but young dragons who haven’t even grown up are slaughtered one after another miserably. It’s so scary … We hate them.”

I can understand the terrible pain he seems to be in all of a sudden.

“Did they end up in a war?”

“Well, the parent dragons naturally went to retaliate … But they also killed them.”

“It is a terrible story, that dragons are also victims … We humans are in the same position.”

“That’s why dragons don’t have a problem with humans. They are the best to have our children.”

Gallis continues walking. He travels at tremendous speed, although it is a steep mountain next to a stream.

“It’s okay, Chika. The sun has set and it would be better if we rested here today. There are only a few days left so you can get to know my country and my partner.”

Gallis walked some more, in the direction of the cave that was right next to a small and constant waterfall.

When he got me down and checked that everything was okay, then he started setting up camp. These days I just eat and sleep around the fire he makes, but I guess I can’t help it.

Gallis goes and prepares fish with fruit and whatever else he finds around him.

My weakness makes me feel somewhat useless.

The flames illuminate my face and that of a tired Gallis.

“Here, this is already baked so you should eat it.”

“Thank you.”

I take a small bite of the skewered fish Gallis handed me. Although it is not seasoned, hunger is still the greatest condiment. It is truly delicious.

“Your partener. How did you meet him?”

“I didn’t lie to you when I said I just found him.”

“And how?”

“Oh, this is also a clan secret … Dragons can summon a mate. You know, it’s very useful since we can’t get close to anyone. Our power is far-reaching, so he can come from anywhere. However, they only fall in the forest … So you have to go hunting them.”

I was about to drop the fish in his hand. Summoning, falling into a forest. Maybe that’s why I ended up coming here.

Was I going to be a dragon’s mate?

“How is he?”

“He’s a beautiful human.”

My hands are sweaty and shaky …

“Do you know where he comes from?”

“When I found him, he was pale and he kept holding his head. He is a tall, thin boy with black hair and brown eyes. He told me that he was scared, that his name was Yuki, and that he needed to see Chikayuki right away. That’s why I found out about you.”

“Ah?”

It’s more than I can handle.

Earth, Japan, black hair and brown eyes. His name was Yuki and he was looking for me.

Impossible.

There’s no way it’s Yuki … God. Had they brought him too? A slight tremor hits my entire body, and just a bunch of unpleasant thoughts start to circulate in my head. Did we arrive at the same time? Did he suffer anything like what I had to go through? If his Yuki is my Yuki-kun, I can imagine why he’s in a coma … The tumor is still there. The cancer is still there … I didn’t know if I was angry or sad and I told Gallis to give me a moment to control my emotions.

“Gallis, I now have an important reason to meet your partner. I will walk as much as I can, but I want to go to Dragnea as soon as possible.”

Gallis, who was biting the fish, looks at me with a strange expression.

He obviously didn’t expect me to say that.

“That’s great for me, but what happened suddenly? Do you know him?”

“That’s just what I want to find out.”

“Oh, great then.”

Can I forgive him if all my guesses turn out to be true?

✤✤✤✤✤✤

Douglas’s POV

The continuous flight of the Pewton immediately approached to an end so we started walking up the mountain trail.

The Dragnea Mountains have a high altitude, too many trees, little pavement, and getting from one end to the other takes a long time.

“Don’t overdo it, Parish. Tell me as soon as you think you reach your limit.”

“I’m sorry to be an inconvenience.”

Although Parish is an extraordinary doctor, the difference in physical strength due to his race is great compared to the rest of us. However, I am more concerned about Gale. The only answer that appears when I call him is a very slight “yes” and when we move forward he seems to lag much more behind than ever before. Although we are close to Chika, who suddenly stopped, it will still take us a few days to reach him.

And last but not least, my son convinced Johann to come with him.

“Hey, Richt. You’re good?”

“Has Mommy come?”

“Not yet, but almost now. Do you want to sleep for a moment?”

His face is buried in my chest.

“I want dad …”

“Gale … He’s in so much pain now. So how about you sleep with me this time?”

“Is it for mommy? Do you miss mommy like Richt?”

“Oh yeah. But also, Richt’s brother is growing in your mom’s stomach. Gale is worried because he doesn’t know if they are okay.”

“But Richt and Dad are going to protect them! So … Then Dad won’t be sad anymore !!”

“It is true. We are going to protect them all.”

Richt is a very good and understanding boy. I never thought my son would ever be the one to cheer me up.

I stroked Richt’s head with a little more force than I used daily.

“Douglas-sama, there is a small space ahead. I was thinking that we could rest there, but there is also more chance that we will be attacked by a demon beast.”

“Yes, but the Pewtons can’t walk anymore. If they don’t rest well, there will be a huge impact on tomorrow’s flight. Let us rest there, but be alert.”

“I get it. I’m going to get ahead of myself then.”

Johann disappears without waiting for me to answer him.

“Theo, are you okay? I’m sorry that your first trip away from the capital is one as heavy as this one.”

“Uncle, what are you talking about? It is a very good experience. Chika is very important to me too … And, I can’t forget Hikaru’s tearful face as he called for his mom.”

“Oh well … Hikaru shouldn’t be involved in this.”

“Yes I know.”

Although we must accept that the motivation that my nephew has is because … Maybe I will have to … Not at all! I’ll think about it better when Hikaru grows up.

Johann, who returned immediately from his inspection, tells me:

“Douglas-sama, monsters swarm near here, by Daiki. The number is about fifty. What do we do?”

“We have to move right there tomorrow …”

“It is unavoidable.”

“Inevitable. Theo, Gale, you guys will be up front with me. Parish and Johann, go back and take care of Richt”

Receiving my words, each one begins the preparation.

I’m familiar with using two swords, but Theo seems to be more comfortable with one spear. Gale carries a large sword, Johann a small dagger and Parísh, just relies on the power of his magic.

Richt descends from my chest and addresses Johann. He’s very smart so he knows exactly what to do without needing to be told … He’s never a problem.

Right now, I’m worried about someone else.

“Hey. Are you okay, Gale?”

“No problem. All I have to do is kill him. It is easy.”

“Gale, if you think …”

“I’m going to check first.”

“No … Gale, wait a bit.”

I was a little scared of that face that screamed: I hate everyone! Gale is important to me, I love him too … And now he’s running towards the demon beasts without hearing my words.

“Theo, I’m going to follow Gale!”

“I get it!”

I don’t know where he could go, because Gale runs so fast. We were desperately chasing him, but it took a long time to catch up due to the bad road. However, what we saw in the end was a horrible image. Gale was there, alone against a group of demon beasts. Gale’s sword goes in and out, and at the end of dismembering them, he steps, cuts, and kicks the heads that ended up on the ground. One of the monsters crosses the gap that separates the sword from Gale and tries to bite his arm … But he does not allow it, he grabs the monster’s jaw with one hand and detaches it with the other.

It’s like crushing ripe fruit.

Parish is very impressed and scared by the scene, yet Gale doesn’t stop. Eradicate everything with the power of his magic sword. Not one or two, but the entire pack. The carnage unfolds as he watches them with a smile that can easily freeze the viewer’s spine. It’s like he’s having a ton of fun. His entire body is drenched in blood and demonic beast flesh, but he could only laugh.

The demons have already started to flee out of pure fear of Gale’s appearance.

Dammit.

“Gale, is that enough … Gale? You’re overreacting! You don’t need to chase them, it’s not against them!”

I reach out to try to stop Gale, but he yelled at me:

“Get out of the way!”

When Gale looks in my direction, he raises his sword and places it against my chest. No way, I never thought Gale would attack me… But it’s not like I could leave him alone either.

“Parish! Let’s get Gale to sleep!”

“But…”

“Put him to sleep now!”

As soon as I desperately screamed, I heard Parish recite a prayer. Gale lost power and fell to his knees on the spot. His head slammed onto the ground and his eyes went blank.

“Douglas, Gale…”

“This is the path most Anima follow when they lose their mate. Gale’s state must have been unleashed by Chika and his son … It can be a long process.”

“Douglas, does that mean Gale is freaking out?”

“Maybe I’m already crazy …”

Both Johann and Theo, who have just arrived at the scene, listen to me and look at Gale with a pained expression. Richt, who jumped off Johann’s chest, leaned close to Gale’s face and started licking him.

“Father! Dad doesn’t have to be afraid! Everything is fine.”

“Richt … Leave him alone. Come here with me.”

Parish comes from behind just to apologize:

“I’m sorry. I should have acted differently.”

“No, do not worry. On the contrary, your witchcraft saved us. As expected of a son of the Uberto family.”

“Gale’s magic is very heavy.”

“And it can get even worse.”

We decided to find a place away from the demon corpses to rest there. Gale is still lying on the floor and sleeping with an expression of impressive agony. Richt, meanwhile, can only lick Gale’s face to try and soften his expression. Possibly it is succeeding.

Chika, what are you doing now?

If I could make a wish it would be for you to be safe. I feel the fear that many important things will be lost at the same time, you, our children, Gale and the moments that we manage to hold in such a short time… Is it possible that I too will go crazy?

The voice of a bird singing in the distance echoes sadly in the night forest, and only then does silence come.

Leave a comment