Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 17

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

“So you want Chika to work in the guild?”

“Oh, if Chika wishes it that way, then we want it to happen.”

Gale and Douglas took me to the guild to discuss the specifics of my desire to work. Mintz was the first we talked to about it.

“Chika-kun will be able to work well as a healer. From what I heard yesterday, I think he will have even more knowledge about illnesses and injuries than all of us so there is no problem for the hygiene department … But …”

“But?”

“It’ss not that…”

Mintz tries to say something and sighs a lot in the meantime.

“The problem is Chika-kun’s appearance and race. I think it is impossible to keep wearing a hood because he has to see patients face to face. I am worried about that.”

“After this, we will introduce Chika to the staff and tell them he is our partner. I don’t think they want to mess with him after that.”

“That’s true, but what are they going to do with the other adventurers? They are a bit violent.”

“Anyone who shows a disturbing move against Chika will die.”

“… Eh?”

I am sorry that Gale-san made a joking comment.

But his expression is serious.

“Well, unlike Gale, I’m a nice person. We’re not going to kill anyone … Just hang them by the balls in front of the guild. Naked, obviously.”

The atmosphere surrounding Douglas doesn’t seem like a joke.

Why did this happen?

Why precisely me?

“No, no, no, why are you both so loud or so extreme or so stupid! It is excessive to tell everyone that you are partners! Well, Parish and Glenn can help take care of it. Besides, I’m not going to detach myself from him, we will be together all the time. Happy ?!”

“Thanks Mintz … I’m so sorry for the inconvenience.”

“No, no Chika, you are not a bother at all … But the problem is the two overprotective and fierce beasts that you got yourself! I understand that Chika is important. But please don’t leave the guild unstaffed!”

Mintz-san was angry so they both ended up nodding and apologizing many times.

“Sorry to bother you. However, I will protect myself with my own power as much as possible.”

“Do not do that! Chika, don’t think about doing anything with your own power. It is still too early.”

Douglas looks at me with an expression that tells me that, to him, I am still a little boy.

“We need to prepare Chika as soon as possible. Also so that he can use defensive magic and … We need a device that can help us detect Chika’s whereabouts at any time. Let’s ask at Mardo’s store later.”

“Well, you don’t have to do that … Would that be a lot of money? Is magic equipment expensive?”

“You don’t have to worry about that, Chika’s safety is more important than anything else.”

“Chika-kun, it’s okay to be pampered. They have money. What difference does it make to get a few pennies out of them?”

But I don’t want them to spend their entire salary anyway.

“Chika, this is for our own peace of mind. If Chika cannot accept this, we cannot allow him to work outside. That is all we are going to say.”

Gale nodded along with Douglas.

“I get it. Then I will refund the money for the magic tool when I save enough.”

“We are partners, so you shouldn’t be so alarmed by useless things. I really don’t hate how seriously you take things, Chika. But I’d also like you to lean on our shoulders a little more.”

I can’t help but feel like this is very difficult for me.

Have I ever had so much “support” in my life? At home, my mother was more the type of person who thought I had to be self-sufficient to escape the problems I was getting myself into. I would never have worn a tracker, that’s more than clear.

“Oh, sorry, I’ve never needed people to care so much about me.”

“You don’t have to apologize so much either. Gradually, we will show you the way to live a good married life.”

When I looked at them, I honestly wished it was another joke. But no, we are really going to be spouses in the not-so-distant future. I turned red again.

“Wow, how passionate. Can I ask you to do these things at home? So, Chika-kun! You’re going to work very well with me in the hygiene department, right? I would like to introduce you to the guild staff first before going to the hygiene sector.”

“Yes! Please.”

I get really excited whenever it’s time to meet new people and new colleagues. Happiness is slowly increasing, also curiosity and immense nervousness.

After that, I was taken to visit various departments of the guild .

They had told me that there was no need to hide while I was working in the guild, so they initially looked at me in an absolutely indiscreet way. However, when Douglas and Gale joined me and told everyone that I lived with them, the complexion of the staff changed in an instant.

“If something happens with Chika, rest assured that we will find out.”

Douglas says it in a cold voice, completely different from his tone at home. Gale throws a strange look at everyone in the office and then the staff react almost in tandem. They move their heads up and down with the impulse that they may be ripped off if they stand still.

I also introduced myself and said:

“It is a pleasure.”

I tried to be nice, but the answers were exactly the same.

I went to all the departments and finally, I got to the hygiene section. The one that was to be my workplace from today. I feel a bit nostalgic with this laboratory atmosphere. The walls filled with that herbal smell, something that feels clean. As a pure disinfectant. There was a young man waiting for Mintz, clad in a squeaky white coat. He had a very gentle atmosphere around him and the features of his face made me think that he would be a popular doctor with young children.

On his back are feathers, a mix of brown and white.

“Nice to meet you, Chika-kun? I’m Parish, a member of the medical staff.”

I was greeted with a kind expression, and I greeted him in the same way.

“Yes, I am Chikayuki. I’m just learning and it may cause problems, but I’ll do my best.”

“Oh Chika, you’ll be fine with Parish. I already told him about your circumstances. He’s my partner and your new bodyguard.”

“Exactly. I’m sure it has been very difficult for you so far, but you can trust me if you have any kind of problem. Agree?”

In a way, he was the opposite of Glenn, who I met the other day.

“So I entrust a lot to Chika.”

“As soon as something happens, we’ll report it.”

“If Chika is important to you, he is important to me too.”

Gale and Douglas walked out of the room, looking over and over at me.

✤✤✤✤✤✤

“Wow, Chika. It is obvious that you are really loved. I have seen Gale-san act overprotective and serious for the first time.”

“Oh, surely Gale was trying to be threatening … Chika-kun! I would like to explain the work of the Hygiene Department. It’s okay?”

“Yes! Please.”

Although it is the department of sanitation, it should be a place in charge of treating specific injuries and illnesses. Obviously, there are too many differences in the way I work, such as the level of medical technology in this world.

I felt that I had to listen to everything very carefully so as not to do something stupid.

“There are two basic tasks. The first is the treatment of sick and injured people. It is mainly the adventurers who belong to the guild, but there are cases in which ordinary citizens come. If it is something simple, it can be repaired using normal healing techniques … But it is necessary to consult with the patient before. Recipes are also given. The second is drug preparation and research for new drugs.”

When it comes to herbal medicines, I like to say that I have some knowledge, but when it comes to developing medicines from new medicinal herbs in a world I do not know at all, my knowledge is completely very little. Equal to zero.

First of all, I think the plants in this place are completely different. In smell, in size, you should study everything again. As if it were an elementary school child.

“Mintz…”

“What happened?”

“The animals and plants in this world are completely different from what I know, and I don’t know what kinds of medicinal herbs there are. Even when I was a doctor in the original world, there was a craftsman who specialized in drug development. Also, my main job was to use my skills properly for the good of patients. If you could not include me in drugs …”

“Oh, it’s fine. There are several other people who have expertise in drug development … Chika can use the knowledge he already has to screen patients. From what I heard the other day, you seem to have too much knowledge about wound management. There are very few people who have proper healing techniques. It’s just me and Parish, basically.”

“If so. Then of course it could help!”

If it’s for medical tests, I have some confidence in myself. My specialty was surgery, but I have done examinations in other departments for almost two decades. I am sure I can make a very good diagnosis, unless it is a special disease or a very unusual case.

I will have to do my best every day .

“Chika, I will guide you to the physical testing room and the treatment room. Parish, see you later. Alright?”

“Yes. So Chika, see you later.”

I see Parish one last time and then I am guided to a room next to the laboratory. It was a bedroom with two tatami mats, white walls, a desk, a chair and a bed that allowed the patient to lie down.

“This is the exam room. First, if the patient needs a simple medical examination, he will be treated here or simply given medicine. If it’s a difficult case, we take him to the back room.”

Mintz takes me into the back room while he tells me.

There, there were about two beds in the center and various herbs, jars, and tools available.

“If they have very deep scratches or severe pain, use this room. However, there are many people who die because … Well, you can tell. We don’t have much equipment and they lack blood. Blood that we cannot give them.”

I hear that and I realize that there is no concept of blood transfusion either. If I can do something about it using a proper magical healing technique, then surely I could …

“I think Chika will work mainly in this room. What are you saying … Chika Chika? You’re good?”

“Sorry, I was thinking a bit.”

“Yes, ask me anything you don’t understand. So what do you want to do today? Fortunately, there are no patients yet.”

“I would be very grateful if you could tell me how to use the healing techniques.”

“Oh yeah, that’s fine. It shouldn’t be too difficult for you.”

I went back to the exam room and sat in a chair, Mintz gave me a cup of tea and afterwards, he gave me a fairly organized lecture on all types of healing techniques while I drank it.

Leave a comment