Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 18

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

“As I said before, the most important thing when using magic is creating an image. The spirituality used for magic is relatively simple. Create a fireball, create a sword, create a waterfall …”

“So is it okay to say that you can use magic if you have a mental image?”

“That’s right … At least that’s the hypothesis we all have.”

Mintz gives various explanations while drinking tea and waving his hand gracefully.

“After that, we have the discomfort and pain that comes from capturing the magical power of others in the body… But sadly, this is necessary.”

“The pain when you treated my fracture was quite surprising.”

“There are some people who hate healing treatment, exactly for that.”

“Sure, it must be even more painful for a young child.”

I don’t think children can bear the pain and discomfort that this causes. At least it was not the feeling I wanted to convey to a patient.

“Now let’s try a simple healing technique.”

Mintz took a nearby needle and injured the tip of his left thumb. It seems that it is not a big wound, but the blood begins to overflow. Then he says:

“Oh, I didn’t tell you about this. We can’t get heal with our own healing techniques. I don’t know for sure why, but our own magical powers don’t work. We always need someone else’s help.”

“I’ll do my best.”

I take Mintz’s hand and cast my magic power exactly as he taught me. I imagined in my head the image of blood vessels and skin damaged by the tip of the needle. I tried to strengthen my magic to send it to him.

The light envelops the wound.

“Oh … that’s it!”

Mintz raised a marveling voice, but I couldn’t afford to answer it. When the magic I was sending weakened, the light around the wound disappeared and the cut that was supposed to be there until a few seconds ago was gone as well.

“You are wonderful at using healing techniques!”

I am also impressed that he had used healing techniques for the first time and still managed to treat a wound so well.

“Parish! Parish! Can you come for a moment?”

I had the impression that Parish-san ran out of the laboratory.

“What? What happened? You’re good?”

“I’m fine, please come here.”

Saying that, when Parish comes into the room … Mintz takes his hand and sticks a needle into his ring finger. I was watching the spectacle of doubts unfolding before my eyes.

“Oh! Okay. What are you doing?”

“Be patient with this! Chika. Chika! Can you cure it?”

“Yes … I can!”

I took his hand, and my magic reacted the same way it did with Mintz. By doing so, the wound healed cleanly and without any additional problems.

“How was it, Parish? Was there any discomfort or pain?”

“No, it wasn’t painful at all. It was the same as when Mintz healed me once … But what does that mean?”

“I do not know. It didn’t bother me either. It was quite comfortable.”

The two of them held their chin and thought.

“Is it bad that it doesn’t hurt …?”

“Oh I’m sorry. I’m a bit confused, Chika-kun, you said you felt uncomfortable when I repaired the fracture with magic. That is a normal reaction. Me and Mintz, we were treated by you, it was nog painful at all.”

I certainly remember him explaining it to me. The magic power of others is basically a foreign object and can be painful and uncomfortable … With the sole exception of partners.

Does that mean that my magic power is compatible with everyone?

And I realized, it was actually quite outrageous that it was like that.

“So Douglas and Gale were wrong about me being their partner?”

“Oh no, that’s not true. I was able to accept Chika’s magic power, but Chika was uncomfortable with my magic power. The power of those two fools you received without any problem and, in addition, there is the smell that you perceived. You can be sure that they are your partners, so don’t make that face.”

It seems true if you think about it calmly, but my head was not working well due to the possibility that they were not mine. I was still scared.

“Okay, sorry …”

“But is this an effect of having an SSS rank? Is unusual. Either way, we must report it to the heads of the branch.”

“Uh, I’m really sorry for the inconvenience.”

“Don’t worry, it’s not as bad as you think.”

Later, as a result of consulting with Gale-san and Douglas-san, I was able to continue my work as a doctor in the guild – even though there were several things they didn’t like about my unexpected situation.

When a patient wonders how a person from a human tribe is good at wielding magical power, then Douglas will respond with a truly compelling story. Using all the authority a guild boss can have.

I decided to have lunch with Mintz in the guild cafeteria and in the afternoon, we planned that it would be fine to treat adventurers who had suffered from minor injuries.

“Why are there children here?”

As soon as I entered the exam room, everyone was shocked and overreacted. Every time I explained that I was already an adult and because of that I had started working here today, no one seemed to believe me . Actually the first patient showed me his wound and seemed to have some confidence in me when I started to apply the healing technique to close it … But then he asked me to call someone else.

“Do you have free time today after work? There is a place that prepares good food.”

“Hey, are you really an adult? Won’t I have problems if I ask you out?”

“I’m sure you haven’t married yet. Do you have a couple?”

“You are a human? You have no interest in dating beasts?”

I wonder why these guys think they are popular. All adventurers have a very ugly and overly muscular body … Actually, there are many people in this world who have deeply carved features so if I were on Earth, they would surely have immediately caught my eye.

But now Gale and Douglas always come to mind right away.

Is it because we are “partners”?

It would be good to tell them openly that I have partners and that I like them and that they make me feel pretty good … But there was too much shame inside me and at the end of the day I couldn’t say anything to them.

Then when Mintz whispers something in each person’s ear, everyone changes their expression and jumps away from the exam room.

“Chi-kun, are you okay? Well, they aren’t that bad actually so you should talk to them a bit later. It’s like a strong beast instinct, trying to persuade you to be his partner.”

“I know, but it’s a bit embarrassing to tell them that I have partners … And then they find out who they are and don’t want me to touch them anymore.”

“It’s okay. I already took care of that for you.”

Mintz responds with a smile that seems bewitching.

Fortunately, there were no seriously injured people and the examination of each patient went without a hitch. I have been able to handle quite a few other people and have become used to using healing techniques.

At that moment, suddenly, the surroundings became noisy and an unusual wave of beasts arrived.

The patient I have now is still a boy, with cute cat ears on his head. His parents – … Are they? -. They were huddled next to him with extremely concerned faces. The boy, who was lying on the exam table, leaned over his torso with an expression of pure agony. Fat beads of sweat were visible on his forehead.

Mintz goes over to see the boy and interviews his parents.

“What happened to him?”

“Last night he had a fever, now his stomach hurts … We gave him a medicine that works for abdominal pain, but …”

“I see, I’ll examine him a bit … I’ll touch your stomach, okay? Is this where it hurts? Is it this side?”

Every time he feels the child, he screams loudly and does not answer any questions. Afterwards, Mintz distorts his face a bit and thinks about it.

“Can you come with me for a minute?”

Mintz calls his parents in the back room.

“The child’s condition is not very good … The lower right part of the stomach seems seriously inflamed, plus there’s that pain. Look, we’ve had cases like this before … There are people who can improve in a few days, but if this is not the case, I’m sorry, but …”

“It can’t be … He just … He says my son could die ?!”

“Your son’s condition is pretty bad, even if we treat him now. I think it is better to be prepared up to a point. I’m sorry.”

The boy’s parents shed tears and tears, and Mintz bowed to them with a truly sad expression. Apparently visceral diseases can’t be treated with this world’s medical technology … But I’m Japanese for God’s sake!

I still wasn’t sure, but decided to test a possibility.

I pull on Mintz-san’s clothes and he immediately looks down. Then I whispered in a low voice:

“Mintz, can I attend to you? I want to try something.”

“Chi-kun? Do you have a solution?”

“No, I’m not sure yet. But I can’t let it go. Can I try it even if it seems impossible?”

Mintz seemed to hesitate for a moment, but agreed.

“It’s okay. But be very careful!”

“If it is okay.”

I return to the exam room and address the boy. Parents look at me with uneasy expressions, so I immediately feel like my back is being annihilated.

“What are you doing?”

“Okay, I’ll give you a detailed examination again. You don’t need to worry, I’m actually an excellent healer.”

I ask the child to lie down again.

There are several causes for this type of pain. Appendicitis came to my mind because of the sensation he had in the center of the abdomen and the pain in the lower right … Although the possibility of enteritis cannot be ruled out either.

“You will feel a little pain, but you have to be calm.”

I felt a little pressure on the appendix and suddenly, the boy screamed:

“It hurts! It hurts too much!”

There is a clear and very strong tenderness in his voice. This time, I slowly press the entire width of his abdomen. His abdominal wall is hard as a stone.

The child groans with a sad face. This is surely very painful for him.

Brunberg’s sign is positive …

Shows strong peritoneal irritation. The chance of peritonitis from appendicitis is high … And if you already feel this way, then there is another high percentage that a perforation has occurred. Even if there is an antibacterial agent you can use, it cannot heal on its own. In other words, this child will die of sepsis.

There was no choice but to bet on the remaining possibilities.

“Mintz, I’m going to heal this child.”

Mintz-san looked at me with a surprised countenance, but nodded his head.

“I’ll heal you, I promise you. Can you take it a little longer?”

When I gently put my hand on the child’s abdomen and begin to make all my magical power flow, a great light envelops the abdomen. I think of the normal structure of the organs in the abdomen. From the duodenum to the jejunum and ileum, the cecum and the appendix, the ascending, transverse, descending colon, the abdominal cavity and the visceral peritoneum that contains them, the peritoneum in the wall, the endothelial cells in the capillaries that make up the peritoneum, all the right structures … And I think of a normal state in my head. Something that is not inflamed or pierced. [Don’t know at all if everything is correct…┐(‘~`;)┌ ]

When the picture is completed, the light gradually fades and is absorbed by the child’s body.

“”How are you? Is there still something that hurts?”

“That…? It doesn’t hurt anymore … My stomach doesn’t hurt or anywhere!”

The child rises from the exam table and looks down at his stomach as if he still can’t believe it.

Apparently … Looks like I won.

I was so nervous that I lost my power and fell into place. I even feel a little slow …

“Chika! You’re good?”

“I’m fine, it’s just … Maybe I was very tense.”

“What happened to my son?”

“Yes, your son is fine now. He has been cured. I will tell you in more detail later but first… Parish! Parish !!!”

Parish came running again and took me out of the place, keeping me immovable in his arms.

“Chika, have you ever been told that you don’t have to be so stupidly unreasonable?”

“I’m sorry, but that was the only solution I could think of …”

“Fool! But it was surprising! It’s like a lie. Tell me more about that later.”

With a friendly smile, Parish sits down on the lab couch and quickly looks back at Mintz, who seems completely shocked and equally excited. However, this was a clear revelation for me. If the function and structure of the human body can be visualized in a normal and perfect way, healing is truly versatile.

In other words, it is possible to restore a lost arm or return a malfunctioning leg to its original state.

Leave a comment