Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 27

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

The rain has continued since the morning. I don’t know if there is a certain season in this world, but it’s a little cold this time.

Today is the day to leave this city to head towards Leonidas. And now, in front of me, there are creatures that look a lot like horses.

Its size is 50% larger than that of an ordinary horse and, in addition, a pair of thick and sinuous horns grow on its head. The whole body is jet black and the eyes are crimson. They seem to be high-class monsters called Arvis , and powerful beasts like Gale and Douglas use them for transport.

At first glance, they seem dangerous, but they are already used to the presence of these men and they show it by rubbing nose to nose.

Douglas’s Arvis is called Rex , it is the largest, with the deepest color. He has a good physique, but also a wound on his left side. Gale’s is called Noah and the Arvis with the smallest physique and smallest horns is Glenn’s beloved Minthia .

Minthia has a very adorable face!

Glenn seemed to get scolded by Mintz all the time for naming the beast Minthia after him.

“It’s safe to reach out and touch it.”

With that said, I approached my partners Arvis and Glenn’s lonely Arvis. I was supposed to travel in a two-seater with someone, but I wanted to greet each one first. When I got closer, the three of them would come to me and rub their faces against my hand. Their tails whirled happily and they licked me until they completely covered my face.

“Isn’t this the first time Noah has been so nice to someone other than me?”

“My Minthia is friendly enough, but she’s still surly when she meets someone for the first time. She seems to like you.”

“Well, my Rex seems to love him very much. Now I think Chika will get into a conflict because he won’t know which back to ride on.”

I am very happy, because I quite like animals. But I’m a bit scared because I feel like I have a final decision to make. And I don’t want these monsters to be mad at me if I take one they don’t like!

“Noah, Rex, Minthia, behind our backs.”

A tripartite answer came back to them.

“Chika, did you know that Noah and Minthia are female?”

“Seriously?”

This is, in fact, the first time that I know of the existence of women. Sadly, it appears that only Arvis has this condition.

“Chika, do you know what to do?”

First, I decided to go with Gale-san. Since I can’t get well in the chair, I sit behind him, hold him, and cling to his back.

“Chika, I’ll tell you now before you get tired. Isn’t it okay to look better in front of me? You could even sleep in my arms if you get tired.”

“Yeah, it really sounds a lot better …”

I have never ridden in Japan, and was delighted with my first riding experience. If possible, I would like to enjoy the situation safely and comfortably.

“Now everyone, be careful. Glenn, don’t be silly, and Chika … I hope you have very good fortune.”

“Thanks Mintz! I am eternally indebted to you and Parish … We will see you in Leonidas soon. True?”

“Oh, we’ll go as soon as Mintz’s body stabilizes. Be careful with the branch bosses, they are the only scary beasts that you will meet.”

They are both smiling while waving their hands in goodbye. Anyway, I can see that they continue to be absolutely concerned about me.

“We’ll see you in a month!”

“And again, sorry for borrowing Glenn.”

“Mintz! Don’t force yourself! Take good care of your body!”

Glenn looks sad, but he still has a very strong voice.

We left the town of Catalton. And none of us looked back.

✤✤✤✤✤✤

From Catalton to Leonidas, the route through the Hellenian forest appears to take about three to four days. Although the road has been improved considerably, it seems we need twice as much time to avoid dangerous places. Choosing the friendliest route through the forest also means shortening the hours.

I did not wear any special clothes like this before, it is like a furry fur coat that hides my head and my face so that the icy cold does not penetrate me. They got me some leather boots that are easy to walk in and special gloves with specialized protection against gusts of wind. The three people who go with me also have extra clothes. In addition to the leather vest and knee pads, they have higher boots to protect their feet well and a cape on the back that flutters all the time.

The rain never stopped falling.

Each carries their own weapons. Gale has a broadsword that is probably my height. Douglas has smaller swords sheathed on both legs. One is the size of a general sword, but the other is more like a dagger. Glenn wears a bow and quiver on his back and the belt wrapped around his waist appears to be filled with many knives.

The excitement increases when I think there is a possibility of an unexpected situation happening, because … Actually, I really want to see those two fighting . However, I try to control myself by mentally going over the thousand ways this could go wrong.

When we left the town, we were moving upright for a while. Now we finally got off the marked path and into the forest, where the trees grew in a messier way.

“Chika, from here the road will start to get worse. So as soon as you get tired, you have to tell me. It’s okay?”

Because we’re on Noah’s back, the vibration tends to make me bite my tongue. I didn’t say anything, but I nodded desperately.

Gale takes me by the hip with his hand, but the road is long, the chair is uncomfortable and my hands end up holding him again to avoid falling. Although surely he would not allow it.

This may be more difficult than expected.

It’s amazing that these three men argue about food while also planning the route, looking for a camping spot, and manipulating each of the Arvis’s reins. It’s been about … an hour? As it continued running, my hands gradually weakened and I felt a dull ache around my thighs and legs. As expected, it was still too early to stop, but Gale unexpectedly stopped Noah.

“Chika, how long have you been in that position?”

Looking at Gale, it’s obvious that he has a kind face … But he tells me in a voice that seems almost desperate. I’m sure that since it’s about him, he’s more worried now than ever.

“I’m sorry, I can’t really stop thinking I’m going to fall …”

“There’s still a long way to go. If you are in this position, Chika, I promise you there should be no problem. I’m not going to let you go.”

Gale holds the reins with one hand and twists the other around my waist to support me. Gale’s body temperature and heartbeat are suddenly excited. However, if I analyze this pose calmly, it also feels like I am a doll.

“Thanks, I’m sorry for the inconvenience.”

Certainly the road is still long and I try to preserve my power instead of exhausting it. It’s a bit tiresome to leave all my worries to Gale.

“I told you it would have been better if you gave him to me!”

“Doug is very small.”

“Your brain is small!”

“Well, the branch manager is fine, just the way he is.”

Glenn tries to calm an angry Douglas-san.

“It’s raining, we should camp early. I’m concerned about Chika’s physical strength, and I’m sure you are too.”

Gale ignores Douglas’s protests and directs Noah to the right again. When I looked at Gale, who was holding the reins firmly, staring straight ahead with his usual sassy face, he smiled. He smiled and then kissed my forehead.

After that, when the sun began to set in the distance, it seemed that we had made about a third of the way progress and it was decided that it was fine to camp in a slightly open spot, in the woods.

The three Arvis, who alternate every time I stretch my body, lie down next to me and begin to move for my attention. They looked like playful little dogs! My partners looked surprised because apparently, it is not normal for monsters to behave this well.

All three men are smart and they put together a tent in a matter of seconds.

I built a fire and began to prepare a simple dinner with the ingredients that I had packed before leaving. Gale and Douglas had gotten me fruit from nearby trees, but if I wanted to make a special meal, then my condiments couldn’t be without. Most of my belongings are condiments, ingredients, and utensils.

First, I heated the rice balls that I prepared at home before leaving. I also brought fried beef and salmon breaded with salt. To be honest, I’m not sure there is enough to satisfy all three of them, but they will have to endure. Fortunately, there was nori – the color was brown, but I thought it was nori because it tasted the same as nori – so I wrapped all the rice in nori so the surface wouldn’t dry out. I made two types of fried eggs that are delicious even if it’s cold; salty with dashi and sweet with plenty of sugar. That’s why I just made a simple soup to finish … But after much thought I couldn’t make the amount I wanted so I increased the volume by adding pork.

I cooked pork mushrooms, radishes, sweet potatoes, carrots, taro, burdock, lots of mushrooms – although they are all small mushrooms … I heated the pot and stirred the ingredients in oil. After heating, I added water and simmered. I completely put the seasonings in and at the end, I melted the miso.

When I turned my eyes to the three people with food in their hands, I discovered that they were already ready to fight each other.

“Thank … Thank you for your patience. I’m sorry I didn’t prepare enough.”

“Chika, what is this round brown shape?”

“It’s a rice ball. I cooked rice with the ingredients that I had, and I held it in my hand until I formed that shape.”

“This is yellow … It looks like a pancake.”

“Yes, it’s called a fried egg. The method of preparation is the same as that of the pancake, but there are two types: sweet and seasoned with dashi. Please tell me if you like it. So I’ll use it for future reference!”

“This soup is amazing !! There are many ingredients …”

“Ah, Glenn, the soup is made from a slightly unusual seasoning which is … Fish.”

“Sounds delicious.”

I put my hands together and whisper a little “Thanks for the food” before reaching for a rice ball. Meanwhile, even if it is not something urgent, the three of them eat at an alarming rate.

Are they at least chewing?

“This is called onigiri, it has minced meat. It’s a deeper flavor than sukiyaki but …”

“Is this the fish? It is salty and delicious! Chika, the rice is pretty good too!”

“This is the fried egg, it’s simple unlike a pancake.”

“Bosses! Please give this thing a try!”

Persuaded by Glenn, the two begin to eat the pork soup. In the next moment, when I thought everyone had calmed down, they started eating over and over until the bowl was empty.

“Chika, I’m sorry. Can you get more?”

“Chika, another cup!”

Ah.

The scene that I have seen every day unfolds in front of my eyes again. The beasts clean the dishes without saying a word, barely breathing. I want to eat slowly as I have a decent conversation, but it is never possible .. . However, the words finally return to men’s lips once there is nothing left to gobble down.

“This pork soup is wonderful, the miso was also very rich.”

“I didn’t like vegetables, but if I eat Chika’s food more often, I’ll change my perception very soon.”

“I’ve eaten so much. But I’m still hungry!”

“Ah, you can eat from my plate Glenn. I am already full.”

“Chika-kun, is it really okay?”

“Yes, originally I eat very little.”

When I said this to Glenn and handed him my plate, my spouses were now looking at Glenn-san. He didn’t say anything, eating was enough for him after all.

“Delicious! Can you tell me about this?”

“Yes! With pleasure!”

After finishing the meal and cleaning up, Gale and Douglas went looking around for fresh water. In fact, Glenn-san offered to go, but, in the words of my companions: It is not necessary for weak beasts to go when strong beasts are here.

I said goodbye to them, said, “Please be careful,” and went back to the tent with Glenn to sleep next to him. It was nice, and the conversations we had flowed very well … But when I thought it wouldn’t be any colder, my body suddenly trembled.

“Chika-kun, is it too cold for you?”

“Just a little, but I feel like it’s normal in this area.”

Actually, I feel like everything has gotten terribly cold the further we go into the forest.

“I’m sorry, since we are beasts … Our body temperature usually regulates itself.”

I’m going to fix it now.

Glenn seemed completely convinced when he pulled away and began to remove what he was wearing. He took off his cape, vest, pants, underwear and was naked. As expected, Glenn’s body is not as muscular as my peers, but he has beautiful muscles that are tight and well distributed.

I didn’t want to look at him too much… But it was impossible! Glenn didn’t get mad at me, he laughed and showed me a friendly smile with sharp teeth sprouting. The next moment, Glenn’s body glowed for a moment. The light disappeared as his figure distorted.

Later, a very large wolf with silver fur appeared.

Leave a comment