Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 9

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

The place we arrive at, seems dreary and dangerous. Is it okay to have a herb store with such an atmosphere? First, Douglas opens the door and walks in, then my master goes.

“I’m sorry for the intrusion.”

“Oh. Not one of the guild bosses? It’s rare that they come to a place like this.”

He was a gentle-looking old man, with circular glasses on his thin face. He had black wings like bats on its back.

“There is something I want to ask you, I know you are familiar with magic tools. I thought it would be nice to come with you to solve my problem.”

“If it’s about magic equipment, then leave it to me.”

“Oh. Do you know how to remove the cursed magic piece from a slave?”

“A slave collar? Yes, of course I know.”

“Thank you. Can you tell me right away what to do? If you can remove it, please remove it now.”

“Now? Is that? What is Gale holding there?”

“It’s not that, it’s a boy. I took him out of the slave town. He is prohibited from talking too much beca”use the tool is blocking you.

“Not to show off, but I’m smart. First of all, can I verify the type of magic tool and the curse that is being applied to it?”

When the owner of the store – Is it Mardo-san? -, approached me, looked at the metal necklace attached to my neck and shouted something in a strange language. The necklace immediately glowed for a moment. I jumped into the arms of my master.

“You have to calm down.”

“These are many restrictions … It’s rare to be so strict with slaves. The magic power not to disobey, the power not to commit suicide and not to speak.”

“So you can delete it?”

“Yes, no problem. Do you have the slave contract?”

“Here.”

My master gave Mardo-san something similar to a scroll.

“He’s a human sex slave, isn’t he? And you are the proud owner.”

“I’m sorry. Do you need to say it like this?”

“Of course, because it was legal. We need to jump right into the curse so if you own the slave that’s great. Can you drop a few drops of your blood on the magic circle of this contract?”

“I understand, of course I do.”

When the master receives the knife from Mardo-san, he slides his thumb over the blade without hesitation for a second. The blood that gushed out from the wound gradually fell on the contract. I’m sorry you did something like that for me, so I licked my master’s injured thumb … Then I put it all in my mouth.

“Don’t do that, you don’t need to worry about such a small wound.”

“Now I will unlock the curse.”

When Mardo-san finished casting something like a spell at the contract, the scroll snapped shut … And then the metal ring at my throat shattered and disappeared.

“Yes, I have finally solved all the curses on the slave’s collar.”

Mardo-san was smiling at me.

“Hey, can you talk?”

Douglas looked at me and held my chin.

“Ah … yes, thank you …”

I have not said more than a single sentence for years, so my voice is absolutely weak for this moment. I felt an infinite sense of incongruity as I spoke, but I seem to be able to handle it.

The joy of being aware of my own words is overwhelming.

“You are OK now. I’m so glad … You can start by speaking slowly, take all the time you need until you can get it right. Mardo, thank you very much. How can we express our gratitude to you?”

“Never mind, I couldn’t accept anything anyway. I am always grateful to you, both to the guild, as well as to Gale-sama and Douglas-sama.”

“Thank you very much, Mardo.”

When he tell him, my master bows lightly to Mardo-san while holding me firmly in his arms. As we were already about to leave, I hurried over and thanked Mardo, bowing as well.

“Thank you…”

Mardo returned a kind smile.

After that, Douglas, who was detained by Mardo-san for a few moments, walked beside us the whole way without removing his serious face. Apparently, after leaving the shop, it was necessary to head to the guild to speak with Mintz.

Douglas stopped a couple of times to shop at several different stores, and now, his arm is holding a paper bag full of bread.

“I bought what we need, especially the balm and medicinal drink for his throat.”

He gives the master something similar to a bottle of water, but woven from green plant branches. I then replied:

“Yes. Thank you…”

My voice is still weak, but I don’t feel like I’m talking nonsense anymore. My master put the bottle of water in my mouth.

“Oh I’m sorry. Can you drink it yourself?”

“Not well…”

I certainly didn’t know if he was, but he was very gentle when he lifted my chin and opened my mouth so I could drink. I quickly swallowed the liquid while pouring it into my mouth. Something that felt like an iced tea with a slight citrus and herbal flavor wrapped in a honey sweetness that penetrated my throat.

I drank it and then continued drinking it.

“It’s a herbal drink. It is used to regenerate the micro lesions of the mucosa.”

“It was delicious … Thank you.”

Now he was hardly hearing me fuzzy, and my voice was not a problem.

“Okay, you look better. There are many things we want to hear from you, but I am afraid to keep Mintz waiting longer than necessary. We go to the guild first.”

We walked in silence for a while until we came to a building that was very similar to a hospital. It had three floors.

“This is our guild, the place we come to work every day. We’ll show you around, sure … But later. We need to talk to Mintz so I guess we’ll stop at the boardroom first, okay?”

“… Good.”

Upon entering the guild, I see various beasts at work and some people who are equipped with swords and armor. A person who was receiving visitors behind a counter called us:

“Isn’t this our good Gale? Wasn’t it your day off?”

“Yeah, it’s a long story. Can you tell Mintz to come to the boardroom? It is an urgent matter, you see.”

“I get it.”

After a slight final salute, the master and Douglas climbed the stairs to the third floor and headed for the room furthest from the guild, across the hall. It was actually, like a normal office room. With several desks and chairs for important work and a room full of boxes and documents. When the master sits on the velvet sofa in the living room, I sit on his knees as usual. Douglas sits on the other side.

“I’m sorry to have you sitting on my lap, since you’re fine now, surely you want to sit alone.”

“No, it’s okay if you want it this way.”

“Are humans always this complacent?”

At the same time as Douglas asked that question, there was the sound of knocking on the bedroom door.

“I’m Mintz … Did they say they wanted to see me? I can pass?”

“Oh, come in.”

“Wow … That you all came here together means that the curse has been successfully solved, right?”

Mintz sits down on the couch next to my master and begins to carefully check my neck.

“Okay, the curse has been solved very well.”

“Yes, thanks for everything.”

Since I was truly grateful, I bowed in gratitude.

“So tell me … How old are you?”

“I don’t know exactly how long I’ve been a slave, so it may not be accurate … I think I’m about 16 years old.”

The size of my body when I got here was almost enough to think I was a high school student. From there, approximately 2 years passed. I thought that it would be impossible to answer his question by casting how old I was in the other world …

However, for some reason, they all completely solidified.

“I’m sorry … This isn’t really accurate, but … I think I’m correct.”

“Lie…”

“… Lie?”

“It’s a lie…”

Douglas broke something in his hand, my master was making a strange face and Mintz was looking at me like I had lost my mind.

“Well … How old do I look?”

“About 10 years …”

“I don’t see him as an adult.”

“That’s right … I have the same opinion.”

“Eh?”

“How old are adults in this country?”

“15 years.”

Although I certainly have a baby face, it was unexpected to be seen as someone so young. However, if I think about it calmly, I understand that my master’s actions have all the logic in the world. He was afraid to touch me, because he thought I was too small.

“Oh I’m sorry. I didn’t want to confuse you …”

“Not bad at all … Yes, it’s convenient for me,” said Douglas.

“Convenient…?”

“No, it’s not convenient for anyone. Don’t be sure of that story so prematurely. His exact age can be determined by making a guild tag.”

“Yes, good. Can you tell me your name at least?”

“I’m sorry, my name is Chikayuki. I am very grateful to you for buying me. I was prepared to die immediately so I’m really relieved. I owe them so much … Not only for taking care of me but also for giving me food and a warm bed.”

I bowed my head deeply with much gratitude.

On the master’s lap …

Leave a comment