Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 41

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

Today I am moving from Gale’s family home to a house closer to the guild. My in-laws(from Gale side) told me it was okay if I stayed forever, but I agreed to move quickly because I convinced them that I would feel more comfortable being elsewhere now that I was going to start working.

The biggest reason is that I’m absolutely embarrassed that Sebastian washed the sheets after the fact the other day and …

When Sebastian, who came to replace the sheets, looked at me, he laughed and said:

“Bocchan and Douglas are abusing their power. Don’t worry, I have warned Virgil-san of their aggressive actions, so you can be sure they are going to scold them.”

I wasn’t going to stay there another second time!

The new house is located in a quiet residential area near the adventurer’s guild, it is also close to the market.

In addition to the regular care that Sebastian showed me, this time it was him who prepared all our luggage

“Since this area is close to the guilds, there are many investigators and adventurers living here.”

“I lived in a house in this district a long time ago, when I was an administrative clerk of the guild. Chika, you must be properly introduced.”

As usual, I was being desperately hugged by Gale-san as we mounted Noah.

The view of Leonidas from above is beautiful. Like a postcard European tourist destination, with the harmony of nature, lush trees and a peaceful western-style urban landscape. But the paved roads, the functionally organized plots and the vibrant voices of the people coming from the market, make me feel that the country, besides everything, is truly rich.

In the place we arrived at some time later, there was a simple, well-built house that was slightly larger than the house we had in Catalton. Although it was simple, the first impression was that the number of rooms and the size of the doors were outrageously huge. As Gale checks the facade, I am guided through the hallways. This two-story house has a living room, like a common Japanese room, there is a kitchen and a bathroom on the first floor. There are also approximately four bedrooms. All equipped with double beds and study tables. They seem very comfortable to wear.

However, the room that I seem to be occupying has a much larger bed. Apparently the three of us were going to be there together.

“It’s a very comfortable place to live. But I’m sorry Sebastian had to do all the preparations on his own.”

“I think you don’t have to worry about that. Sebastian has been serving the family for a long time, he is a talented butler who can do everything by himself. He would be really sad if we didn’t let him participate.”

I think Sebastian is a super human .

Looking around the house, I was surprised that there were so many ingredients and more seasonings than I needed. More than I ever had in Catalton! I think this is also part of Sebastian’s job, but it is too much.

“Sebastian bought all this …?”

“Yes. We can’t wait to try more of Chika’s home cooking after this long journey! Of course the food Sebastian prepares is delicious, but Chika’s is special.”

If you say so, I feel ashamed.

I picked up a few things in my hands while wondering what the ideal menu would be. It seems that everything I want to prepare now can be done very easily, because I have all the materials here, at hand .

I’m really looking forward to getting started!

“So darling… you want to say hi to the neighbors? It seems that they are anxious since they heard that we were coming.”

“Yes! Of course.”

Apparently each house has many people related to the guild living there. I didn’t ask them too much about that or who they were. Maybe they were his office comrades? His childhood friends?

“Bake-san, can you come over?”

Douglas calls the butler from outside the house … I can hear several hurried footsteps, as if they were coming down the stairs with a tremendous desperate impulse, and after what appeared to be an impact, I could see the figure of someone rushing to the door.

Hector and Theo then appeared in front of me.

“Oh I’ve been waiting for Chika-chan all this time! Come in, come in and drink tea with us.”

Hector is beckoning here and there, looking at me with a full smile while releasing a strange aura. Theo, for his part, leans in first.

“Why is my father-in-law in such a place? The house is the royal palace …! What happened?! I thought only Theo was going to move out.”

Douglas is unusually upset. On the contrary, Gale just seems surprised.

“Hey, I want to get more out of my retirement. I’ve been looking for an affordable property and… Look! By chance I found it here. We can say that, it was a coincidence.”

“It’s not a coincidence, Dad! Can’t you just leave us alone for a moment?”

Hector-sama thinks a little with a clearly acted gesture and then slaps his hand as if he remembered something.

“Oh, I came here to take care of some royal business.”

“Matters my brother can’t handle?”

“That’s right.”

“What are you thinking? That’s impossible.”

“Well, I’m going to tell the truth. My cute grandson asked for my help to find out more about Chika’s life. He is very shy and does not know how to do it alone.”

“It’s a lie. I don’t think Theo would ask his grandfather to do such a thing! I think it’s a strategy of yours. You used Theo to live next to Chika!”

“And … Is that serious? We are divided by meters and a door.”

“Even so, my father is the former king! You know? There may be security issues! There will be national events that you will need to attend!”

“My son has elite troops and Cyril is a great help. They don’t need me!”

Hector is completely locked into his dignified attitude. The figure that emerges is splendid, something worthy of a king, but his attitude seems that of a child. On top of that, Theo seems to get smaller and smaller alongside him.

“Theo! Where is the character that you should have inherited?”

“Oh, sorry man. But if my grandfather asks me for something so desperately, there is no way I can refuse …”

“… Theo likes Chika.”

“Grandfather! You promised to keep it a secret!”

Theo is in a panic and Gale rubs his head as if trying to resist severe pain.

“Go back to the Royal Palace! Not everything in life is a game!”

“Oh, now, now. It was true that I have a royal commission. Look, take it.”

Hector-sama gives Douglas a luxurious wax-sealed envelope. Douglas seems restless, opens it, checks it and begins to read it carefully. After reading the letter, Douglas puts a hand to his face before handing the page to Gale as well. My partner read aloud:

“Douglas, it’s impossible for me to stop our father’s fugitive. He started saying strange things, like that he would build a residence for Chika and that he would have you and Gale deported. If I leave it here, it may affect national politics, because he only talks about how cute his grandchildren are sure to be. Douglas, excuse me, but … Take care of my father. Theodor is not a bad boy and I would like you to continue giving him your advice no matter what is going on. Please apologize on my behalf to Chika and Gale.”

Unexpectedly, I looked at Hector’s face. Was it bad enough for Albert to despair like that? On the other hand, it is clear that, if the king requests it, it cannot be helped.

I don’t hate these two people and that’s why I feel even more at ease with the fact that they live so close. Douglas looks at Hector with the expression of a cat about to claw into him, but Hector doesn’t move at all. Theo-sama, on the other hand, seems to be very sad so I feel sad too.

I must break this environment somehow.

“Well, I think it’s encouraging that Hector and Theo live close by. What about Gale and Douglas? They plan to be adventurers again, right? I think I’ll be alone when they go on a mission and … It would be encouraging if someone close to me could support me at that time.”

“Chika! It doesn’t matter how busy we are. You are not going to feel lonely because we will never let you be! If we have jobs as adventurers, I’m sure we can take you.”

“Chika, don’t say something so sad. We will never make you feel so alone that you believe that you should depend on other people. Rather, if it’s this way, then we’re going to quit.”

“We won’t take the job then!”

Was this an adverse effect …? Gale and Douglas were hugging me with great force.

I have to think of something else !!

“I … Oh, Hector-sama and Theo-san. Do you have any plans on what to do for dinner today?”

“No, I don’t really think about these things. I ask the caregiver to come and do it for me most of the time.”

“In that case … Then I’ll cook for you this time!”

“WOW! It’s like a dream to eat Chika’s homemade food! I’m definitely going to your house for dinner! Is there anything you need? We can go to the market if you think it is necessary.”

“No. I have enough at home. It’s okay because I just have to increase the amount of the ingredients!”

I felt this had been dangerous too … I thought I was about to make “The Quiet King” a “Scandalous King”.

“Do I really have to share Chika’s food with my father?”

Douglas, who is angry with Hector, looks worse and worse. I could cry if Douglas got mad at me for the plans I made!

“Chika-chan … Since my son is looking at us with a scary face. How about we get ahead of ourselves?”

Hector took me in his arms, so fast, that he definitely couldn’t be considered an old man. I don’t know how exactly it happened, but he broke into a run as he was being chased from behind completely, absolutely , angry.

“This fucking father!”

“Hector-sama! Bring Chika back!”

Why do the strangest things always happen to me?

Leave a comment