Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 42

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

It’s still a little early for dinner, but if I start preparations earlier and prepare now, I can definitely be carefree afterward.

Two men with terrifying expressions have been following me slowly since Hector took me home. Now not only Douglas is angry, but also Gale … I feel something like a strong chill down my back, but Hector doesn’t care at all and he smiles whenever he turns to see me.

He, who was also called “The Wise King”, certainly has the charm of a mature man. He was blessed with a good physique, comparable to Gale’s, and he is also an honorable person with a strong and engaging charisma. However, he is a very disappointing person when he starts talking.

No, it’s rude to think that way. Because, despite that, it makes me happy to know that he loves me … If we put aside the murderous aura that he makes emerge from my two spouses. By the way, Theo-sama always apologizes to me for his grandfather’s actions. He says, “I’m sorry about this” and “I’m sorry about that.” This is a bit unfortunate and I can’t help but feel bad too.

Today’s main menu is Tonkatsu . I’d like to make a lot of plain, boiled Tonkatsu with a sweet soup and eggs, along with a cutlet sandwich. The evening meal when I was a surgeon consisted exclusively of cutlet sandwiches. However, I am a little concerned about serving the food of a commoner to two people who usually eat things prepared by first-class cooks. More than that, I don’t know how many portions I would need, having three lions and a bear … It can be quite difficult to do this alone so when Gale comes here, I’d like to ask for his help.

“Do you have a problem, young husband?”

Suddenly, he called me from behind, so I fell on the tile. Looking towards the origin of the voice, I see that Sebastian is standing there. Smiling like it’s the most normal thing in the world. I didn’t feel any sign that he was in the same room as me, but more importantly… Why is he here?

“I’m sorry to have surprised you. I’ve been looking at you for a long time … But suddenly it seemed like something was wrong.”

“Ah … why are you here, Sebastian-san?”

Sebastian soon offered his hand for me to stand up.

“I heard the rumor that you were going to see the neighbors, and I assumed that the young husband would surely invite them to dinner to try his wonderful home cooking. So I decided to help.”

“Ah … It’s true. To be honest, I was worried because I thought that maybe I was going to get too much done or, on the contrary, I would end up preparing too little. Can you help me?”

Sebastian soon looks at me with a soft smile.

“Of course. I heard that the young husband’s ability to cook is amazing. I want to get an idea of ​​the things they eat in Chika’s hometown, if you’ll allow me.”

“That’s very exaggerated. My food is amateurish … However, I will do my best for everyone to enjoy it. Thank you very much for your help!”

Thank you for being here and being who you are. Somehow, I feel like he’s a person whose movements are really refined. Beautiful movements that I would like to absorb as soon as I can.

“Speaking of which, Sebastian made all the preparations for this house, and … You also got all the condiments I needed. I don’t know how you could afford it.”

“It was because I wanted to, you don’t have to worry so much about me. The young husband is not yet familiar with this life, so I would like to continue to help you regularly. As much as I can. I’m thinking that later we can both go to the market together. Would you like it?”

That would be very useful indeed. After all, the important details about the ingredients I wanted, the condiments, and the cookware I needed, were not a field known to any of my peers.

“Honestly, I kinda like that Gale and Douglas don’t know much about housework and cooking … I wish you could give me all the advice you can for improvement in the future.”

“Of course yes. So let’s cook now?”

I gave Sebastian an overview of what I wanted to cook today. I couldn’t remember the names of meats, vegetables, or seasonings, so I explained that everything was called differently in my world.

I wanted to make a plate with fried pork with an egg broth with cabbage and sweet sauce. Sebastian asked me a lot of questions about how he could put different things together so that they would go together perfectly, and soon he seemed even more surprised than at first. It is especially impressive for him that method I have of joining the chop with a sauce that looks so strange … But he accepted it immediately.

Sebastian-san’s arm movement was incredible … He was working on my recipe while talking to me and cutting one thing and then frying another. He cut a large piece of meat to an appropriate size in a matter of seconds and the next moment, he shredded an entire cabbage. After a while, Gale came back to see me because he had bought me some additional ingredients. Something like the Worcester sauce I wanted. He was also surprised by Sebastian’s presence, but the next second he decided to withdraw so he wouldn’t feel uncomfortable.

“Did something happen with young Gale?”

“No, I asked him to buy something as close as possible to a condiment that I wanted.”

“Is this different from the sauce we already have?”

“Yes, it’s softer and has a bit of acidity.”

“I see. Is it okay if I work with him the way I want?

“Yes of course.”

Then Sebastian began to cook the “Worcester” sauce, adding some vegetables, seasonings and spices that could enhance its flavor in a better way. When I tried what he did, I discovered that it was exactly what I had tried so many times when I was in Japan.

It is wonderful!

“Wow! This is exactly the flavor I wanted to achieve!”

“He was right. This sauce is certainly not too strong and is well distributed. It can be used very well for vegetables.”

“Can you tell me later how you did it, Sebastian?”

“Yes of course. I’m glad you liked it so much.”

Sebastian is really a superman!

Before this I had thought that it would be enough to have “Worcester” sauce but if possible, I wanted to have some “Tonkatsu” sauce as well.

I rushed to do it using my memory, tossing the ingredients one by one without stopping once — though I wasn’t sure I was doing it right. Luckily there was something akin to ketchup, so I just had to add lemon juice and a little sugar soy sauce. I made a moderately thick pork chop and seasoned it with that.

The rest was “Fried Tonkatsu”. I added flour, eggs, breadcrumbs and let it fry for a long time. The towers of “Tonkatsu” slowly formed as everything piled up in front of me … I was even more grateful to Sebastian, because I couldn’t have been able to fry that huge amount by myself.

I then added soy sauce, sugar, mirin, and sake to the soup, cooked some more “Tonkatsu”, and added an egg or two more. Since I used to do “Dashi” quite often, I just repeated the steps I already knew without stopping too long to think.

“Did you boil the food one more time and then put the yolks in it?”

“Yes, this makes the meat even more crisp.”

“I see. The young husband’s cooking is simple but ingenious.”

I’m shy when they start to speak so highly of me.

I use this time to boil the cutlets for the sandwiches. I asked Gale to buy a lot of soft bread, something that had as little moisture as possible. I cut it to an appropriate size and then applied mayo and mustard to the sides. I really like spicy food, but I didn’t add too much to it because I was afraid that my father-in-law might rather hate it. I put a lot of shredded cabbage on top, then the “Tonkatsu” passed through the sauce and put the lid on the bread.

“This seemed delicious to me after a good afternoon in the operating room, so I hope they …”

“This will be greatly appreciated by your husbands. Even I am dying to try it.”

“I am very pleased!”

After that, I quickly made another miso soup with seaweed and mushroom salad.

When I look around I just think: What kind of celebration are we going to have? It’s also easy to imagine that all of this is going to be lost in a matter of minutes.

“Do you want to start eating, Sebastian?”

“Thank you for the offer, but I will return to the mansion to care for my masters.”

“I’m so sorry you’re so busy. Oh, if you want, I’ll fill this plate and cover it well so you can take it home.”

“Thank you. I am very interested in the taste. It will surely be more than delicious!”

So I hasten to prepare a container and fill it with more small dishes filled with a lot of food. Sebastian took it with both hands and minutes later, he gave me a fairly marked bow.

“Thank you so much for everything you did for me today,” I said. It would have been impossible without Sebastian-san by my side.

Sebastian disappeared from the place in an elegant way, as always.

And, here is the final product .

Leave a comment