Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 44

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

The meal was over and my two husbands did the cleaning, so I went straight to Theo so he could have an experience with humans, as promised. 

Theo, who sits away from the table on a large soft sofa in the living room, still seems to be quite nervous. I didn’t mind getting close because there were only two people around me. He seemed “cute” to me, even though he was taller than Douglas. His body was young, but his personality was suitable to be the next king.

“Theo-sama, do you want to try touching my head?”

“Is it okay if I want you to come onto my lap?”

“Yes! Of course. Although I am nervous to sit on the knees of the next king!”

“Chika-chan. The previous king is very much in love with you!”

“Hush dad! Finish with the dishes! I can perfectly hear Douglas yelling from the kitchen. Rude old man.”

So, I crawled on his knees until I got the same posture as always.

“Ah … I … I don’t know …”

Theo-sama shuddered, approached and whispered something very close to my head, but I couldn’t hear it clearly.

“Am I not heavy? I wish I had a beautiful appearance like your father Cyril-sama and your brother Alex, I am very sorry. But you can touch my head, ears, cheeks, everywhere. I think it’s okay that you like humans!”

Gale, who brought me tea, looked at Theo with a completely scary look, but smiled when he patted my head and said:

“Well, Theo, Chika isn’t that light now, is he? When he came with us, he had no meat at all. He was pure bone and skin. Also, seeing him was a terrible thing because he was full of wounds and broken parts.”

“Why don’t you accept my proposal ?! The people of Catalton are terrible, I think we need to let them know what we think of them. Wait… we should get them to taste hell themself!”

The expression of Hector, who is peeking through the kitchen door, is something difficult to understand.

“Chika-san … With such a small body, he could have had a terrible will … You endured and survived. I have something new to admire about you.”

Theo uses his big hand, strokes my head, touches my cheeks and rubs me for a moment behind my ears … It seems that these people have fun treating me that way , and I feel very good to complain. 

“Who I am now is all thanks to Douglas and Gale. It’s been a difficult and painful life, but it seems like it’s finally over … And now, I’m even so happy that I woke up here.”

“Theo, here. This is Chika’s favorite food.”

The favorite food Douglas talks about is the same one that was in front of me when I was first brought to the town of Catalton. Since I ate it with a lot of craving, was this recognized as my favorite? I don’t like it that much, but I definitely don’t hate it. It is a memorable fruit.

“Does Chika like keel fruit?”

“It was the first fruit my parteners bought me. At that time, I was not yet fully tasting the food of this world … But that was so delicious and they showed me so much kindness that I soon felt very comfortable.”

“Okay, so can I put this in your mouth?”

“I’m a bit embarrassed, but if it’s something Theo-sama wants, then that’s fine.”

After hearing that, Theo took a keel and immediately brought it to my mouth. I’m sorry I raised my hand when he brought it to my mouth, I didn’t want to look awkward, but I was really in awe of the familiarity it seemed to have. So when I put it in and chewed it, that nostalgic taste spread on my tongue.  

“Because you’re so cute?”

“Theo, let me do it too! I still don’t feed Chika!”

“Father! Leave Theo alone!”

But soon Hector was facing me, with one of those strange “cherries” in his hand. When I opened my mouth as directed, my father-in-law gave me a really big keel. My teeth hit Hector’s fingers because I was quick to close my mouth.

“Oh I’m sorry.”

“Chika-chan’s teeth! His teeth hit here! I won’t wash my hands for a while!”

“Dad … enough.”

Hector seems delighted … As long as he’s happy, I guess he’s fine. 

“Now, Chika, can I continue? Is your stomach still okay?”

“Yes.”

Theo-sama is happy, and he shows it by smiling a lot before turning his face to the sky. I wonder if this new gesture is normal. 

And so, one after another, the keel fruits began to disappear in my mouth. It was not difficult to keep up with his rhythm, because I just chewed fast and then, almost without tasting, I swallowed it.

“The food, it was delicious … It really … It was very good. It was a happy moment for me and I thank you.”

Finally, after stroking my head, he holds me so that I can slowly get off his knees … Theo’s expression seems to be very satisfying and may even be the first honest smile he’s let me see in a long time.

“Okay, it’s very pretty and all. I’m glad your wish came true, but can you take my father home? I beg!”

“What the hell! I don’t like the way you speak! I brought my special soap to bathe with Chika-chan! I want to sleep together in the same bed if possible!”

“No no no no. Daddy God! I think we were tolerant enough with that already.”

Since I am sure I can help the situation again, I approach, lean in and say as gently as possible:

“But we are neighbors. Come anytime! We can always eat like that again! Right?”

“Chika, darling, keep quiet …”

“Of course!!! But how adorable! Is there something that doesn’t sound good coming from you?”

“Father…”

“I love you!”

Leave a comment