Categories
Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi

Ai wo ataeru kemonotachi Volume 1 – Chapter 46

Translator/Editor : Léabyss

Theo’s POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have been trying to become the right person to be the next king. Both my grandfather and my father are known to people as capable, strong people, and their abilities are praised by anyone where they go. There was also a time when the fact of inheriting the throne began to be applied heavily on me like a tremendous pressure.

But I respect my grandfather and my father(the dad) very much, as kings, as people, and I always thought that I had to do the best that I could.

My brother, Alex, is good at understanding my emotions and makes up for the missing parts. My dad(the mom) has loved me since he knew he was going to have me. I am very grateful to everyone who raised me and I feel very blessed with the environment that surrounds me. I learned and absorbed the knowledge necessary to be king and strove to study martial arts so that they would not have to be embarrassed because of me.

I was like that for twenty years … And then my uncle brings his partner. A human race that has hardly ever been seen.  

To be clear, I love humans. When they ask me why I like them, I cannot answer the reason, I only know that it is so. It is almost an instinct. I remember, for example, that when I was little I really liked my human father. I don’t remember if I was really thinking about marrying him, it’s a bit embarrassing so I try not to think about it too much.  

My uncle’s partner has a strange hair color. His eyes are dark, and although his face cannot be considered a beauty, I cannot take my eyes off him. He has thin lips, a small nose, and thick pupils that make his face well balanced. Were they really able to treat him as a sex slave? It makes me want to vomit every time I think of that rotten country.

I was able to sit close to him when we had a family-only gathering, but I couldn’t understand what kind of face he had to make at a time of such stress . Alex looked at me often, so did my father … But why? He was very confused and his mouth was held tightly so that they could not realize the feelings that he wanted so much to remember. I felt that he could also be my partner.  

But he got it wrong and thought he was angry. Everything was very new to me and I wanted to scream out loud. This may not have been pleasant at all, but Chika-san smiles at me and speaks kindly. I could not stand it. My face turned red and my lips seemed to tremble a little. Of emotion, of joy, of fear.

What is this feeling? Is this a feeling of love? So he wasn’t wrong …? But I can’t talk to anyone about it.

I couldn’t stop looking at him , until he left.

A few days after his visit, my grandfather called me. The reason was something I didn’t want to do. As my uncle and Chika-dono settled in a new house near the guild, my grandfather asked me to let him live there with me. How could I refuse? If you are in the same neighborhood, you will often be able to see Chika or maybe even go to the house where he lives. My grandfather is not stupid, neither am I. 

The air between my uncle and my grandfather was always very heavy, but it was a minor problem. Something he could bear as long as he could eat Chika’s home cooking. And I will never forget that delight! Best of all, Chika-dono let me touch him. Put him on my knees  

It seemed like a complete dream.

The person I’ve been thinking about so much was riding my lap . His shiny hair, his silky smooth skin, his flowery cheeks, and his little ears. Everything fascinates me . I can’t forget the feeling of him, of his mouth eating keel from my hand. It is a joy to feed such a small and beautiful thing with my bare hands. It’s so adorable to watch him desperately chew and swallow.  

Chika gave me the opportunity to realize a dream that I could never have fulfilled without him.

And now, in front of me, Chika-san examines the patients visiting the emergency room. Despite his youthful appearance, he has better knowledge than anyone else in the health department. You can exercise healing almost with your eyes closed. Quickly…

It was then that my uncle asked me the reason for my stay in that area: “Why do you seem so interested?”

Douglas ended up telling me that since he seemed to have a lot of free time, I could take care of him so he wouldn’t try to heal every patient he came across. He also asked me to try to stop the fools who came to see him just because he was human.

It was a very good offer … Then I already had a very convenient reason to be with Chika-dono.

He works very well, listens patiently without putting on an unpleasant face, attends to persistent complaints from patients and visitors and examines them very seriously. I don’t know much about the work of a healer, but I see that they make very precise and elaborate diagnoses and treatments. Similarly, talk to Alex, who also works as a doctor. Chika shared with him some knowledge that he did not have, models, details, writings and it was all based on some kind of secret base that he could not follow. It seems theoretical and very difficult too.

Alex then started calling Chika-san “The Treasure of the Ministry of Health” and it is very impressive that his eyes began to glow with excitement. However, as the praise grows and as I continue to watch the way he performs medical examinations, I begin to notice that the carnivorous beasts, who are particularly strong here, are closing in on Chika-san one after another. It’s not something I can forgive, but I can’t help it either.

After a while, Alex, who was running busy around, came up to me only to say:

“Don’t intimidate patients with that devilish appearance, silly brother.”

“What do you say? I’m just looking at Chika’s work.”

“No, it’s not like that. I think your face is too irritating and scary for the general public. Please control yourself … Or I’m going to have to get you out of here.”

This is how Alex quickly gets back to work, but what the hell does he say? I’m just doing what my uncle told me to do. Is it wrong to want him to be safe? Shouldn’t I understand being a human as well? I don’t understand it at all . 

Lunch with Chika and Alex.

Not bad, but I’m not satisfied with the taste so far. Not since I had Chika’s kitchen. I envy my uncle, the bear who can eat from his dishes every day.

During the lunch break, Gale asked me to recommend that Chika take a nap in consideration of her weak physical strength. “I don’t want him to over-fatigue . ” 

As if I was the only one worried about him.

I took him to the waiting room of the hygiene department and asked him to lie down on the large sofa. After all, it was true that he was feeling weary from the unfamiliar environment and the hustle and bustle of being a healer. After a while, I realized that he had finally sunk into a comfortable sleep … And I saw him a little closer.

Isn’t this a good opportunity to review Chika’s sleeping face?

I settle down next to him, thinking it would be nice to appreciate him, even if it’s just a little.

 I feel guilty enjoying his sleeping face, his closed eyes, and when I slide a finger through his hair and gently stroke his head, I hear his uttering nice words and showing a really nice smile. This is a trap. Is irresistible! I still think it must have been mine. It must have been my partner instead of those two!

Inevitably I become greedy and when I put my finger on his little hand he begins to wrap his entire palm tightly around me.

He was convinced when he saw it. My feelings are of pure love. It is the first love I ever experienced, my first time after living for twenty years. But, this beloved creature … He already has someone. There’s my uncle, there’s also Gale. But, Animus can have multiple spouses, right? I just have to go, speak up front and tell them. Explain to them that I want to be added as their spouse because I want to protect them. I am the next king. Why wouldn’t it be possible? Douglas is understanding so …

So…

No, of course I can’t do something on my own. I have to verify Chika’s feelings first … And, when I was thinking about it, I heard an intimidating voice from behind: 

“Theo, what are you doing?”

It was my uncle, who had been watching my every move. The air in the room turned harsh.

“Oh man.” Chika-san fell asleep.

I hurry up and release the finger that was being grabbed by his hand.

“If it is okay. Theo, Chika will be fine now so please help me with my work, okay?”

What?!

You want me to leave Chika-dono alone ?!

“I haven’t adequately scared all reckless patients.” If I go … If Chika wakes up … Then what …?

“Oh, I understand your concern.” But you saw him, he is stronger and more capable than he appears at first glance.

“I haven’t adequately scared all reckless patients.” If I go … If Chika wakes up … Then what …?

“Oh, I understand your concern.” But you saw him, he is stronger and more capable than he appears at first glance.

He didn’t say it directly, but that was a resounding and complete “no . ” Of course helping my uncle’s work is fun, but it’s frustrating because Chika isn’t here. 

Yes, that is correct. I need Chika.

“Uncle … Can I ask you something important?”

“What is it, Theodor?”

I put the document I was processing once and threw it all at once:

“Can Chika have a new partner in addition to the two she already has?” Chika is a wonderful person, she’s so gentle and … And if you’re such a cool human being, well, you’ll probably need someone else who can help you. His facial expression became more and more like a mask, but I didn’t stop. I believe in that, that it would be better to have more partners to protect Chika. I just realized that he … I really feel like I love him. I want to protect Chika-san as a partner, I want to be with him and live with him and … I … of course, I will confirm Chika-san’s will … But first, I wanted to know what you thought.

My uncle, who hadn’t said anything in all that time, suddenly opened his mouth. He hit me on the shoulder from behind and said:

“I understand Theodor’s feelings very well, but you know that you need to combine your power with his to know if they really are partners.” I don’t know it’s just about what you feel and … Are you sure you want to do it?

“Of course I do.”

Later, he rented a whole room so we could do the test. There was Gale, Chika, Douglas. Why is it necessary to rent a whole room for that?

Really, I didn’t know anything at this point.

So I … I really can’t talk about what happened to me in the training area. No, something in me tells me not to remember … Because if I do, if I think over and over again and make the same scene run through my mind, I won’t be able to take the country as king in the future. It is something that must be deeply locked in the depths of my memory forever. I don’t have to remember.  

I don’t have to think …

If there is something to tell … It is that their desperate cries will continue to be heard by me every day until the very moment I stop breathing. Even though there are no wounds on my body, it hurts. My conscience hurts maybe as much as it did when I gave it my magic. Why did it hurt like this? 

“Please forgive me,” I yelled. Please forgive me. Excuse me. Chika, forgive me . 

So, I couldn’t get out of bed for a long time … And I know it will take quite a few more days until I can fully recover. I was thinking too sweetly about the depth of the connection. About colleagues, about destiny. My obsession hurt him. I ended up killing my soul …  

My uncle and Gale … I understood that they could only be my uncle and Gale.

In this way, my first love came to an end as soon as it came to me and, although my destined companion comes later … Although it is clear that it is not the end … How can I forget who was my first? How can I even think of letting go …? 

My Chika.

Leave a comment